Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Aerosol Kit (3/5) Jan 21, 2016 Brett Boyd Hahira GA US
  I have used the mix and shake product in the past and have had fantastic results. I am giving this particular product a 3 not because the chemical itself is any different, but because once you reach the end of the can, it spurts and sputters causing the finish to become rougher. I would also add that it might do 4 firearms if they were all 22 derringers. If you get Duracoat, definitey stay with the mix and shake (glass bottle).
DuraCoat Aerosol Complete Kit (5/5) Jun 17, 2017 John J Wright Zebulon Ge US
  I am well pleased with the DuraCoat products. I used the Russian Special Forces Brown on a Ar15 & Coyote Brown on a H&K G3. Both turned out great. Will use it again.
Duracoat 4 Life (5/5) Jul 16, 2017 Ted Veatch Champaign Il US
  Coated an old crossman mark ii for a friend and could not be happier with the results. Very easy to use the kit and the finish is even, elegant and durable. Had a small issue with my first shipment to which customer support went above and beyond to rectify in record time. I'm now a fan and user of duracoat products for life, thanks again for creating and providing such a great product with an exceptional team behind it.
Recommend it (5/5) Sep 3, 2016 Rich M Il US
  Did the prep work, (tedious but very necessary and used acetone) and with one can of Air Force ABU Tan I completed 2 AR-15 complete uppers and lowers including the barrels. I removed the hand guard and masked off just forward of the gas block to get a nice clean line on the barrel. I stripped the lower except for the takedown pins. Removed the stock and grip. I made a tree with 2x4 and 5/8 dowel rod for the lowers, made a hanger for the safety, dust cover and mag release. I also made a 2x4 rack and used a brass rod to hold the uppers so I could roll them using a dowel in the takedown pin hole.
I got good coverage except for very light show through on the inside corners of the picatinny rails on the quad rail hand guard, you really have to look hard to see it, but I was nervous about getting it on too wet and running.
I did 1 ar first, and covered it pretty good, including the barrel and had almost a half a can left, so I took a chance on finishing up the 2nd one. Covered the second one and had very little left so I just kept dusting them until it was empty. I did not get the flat look, but I figure that I did not give enough time between coats.
My other can was Wilderness Mirage Tan, it completed two Remington 700 actions, barrels , bolts and bottom metal, plus two scopes. I also just dusted one stock with what I had left. I was a little disappointed in this color because it is more of a greenish than tan. Got good reviews from my buddies tho!
I did wait longer between coats on the 700's , and did get a less glossy look, but still not flat. I am hoping as they cure they will flatten out.
Over all , I would have to say I am very pleased with the product.
Aresol (4/5) Apr 16, 2016 Joe Standridge West Peoria IL US
  I love the ability to paint my guns and at an easy rate. I recently painted my 1911 and followed all recommended steps. However some higher friction areas the paint is coming off and that's the only negative thing.
Tactical Light Grey (5/5) Jul 22, 2017 Taylor Wiseman Greenwood IN US
  I recently purchased the tactical light grey aerosol and the color is exactly what I was looking for. This is not my first Duracoat purchase and definitely not my last. I had a slight issue with the can. I was about half way through painting the second rifle (AR Uppler, Lower, and 15 inch Rail), and the paint started to spray out in big drops rather than a fine mist. I switched caps after cleaning it, tried to clear the lines using the air compressor and spraying the can upside down, but soon after it seemed as if all the are s was gone yet there was still paint in the can. Like I said not my first time, I weigh every can prior to start and they are always 12 Ozs and an empty can weighs between 4-4.5 Ozs. This can still weighed.7 ozs. Now for the part that made me a dedicated customer, I contacted Houts and let them know of the issue and laid out the steps I took for prep and painting and I received an email the next business day saying it sounded like the can failed and a new can would be sent out. I received it two days later! That kind of service is what everyone wants personal, direct, and no nonsense. I have since finished the rifles and they look amazing. You don't have to be a certified professional to use these products, all you have to do is follow directions and you will end up with a professional result.
! Cool Product (5/5) Nov 15, 2015 Combat Valor x 5 Lexington KY US
  this stuff work great, following instruction to the T BUT add in personal experience quick drying steps as in between spray the aerosol paint bake in the oven at 500 degrees for 15 minutes and let cool for 30 minutes and spray the next coat. this can allowed me to spray 4 layers for 2 stripped AR10 lower and 2 AR15 stripped uppers
bottom line is this product does what it designed for! AND already planning on purchasing more of the same aerosol paint to redo my 80% AR10 build
A one (5/5) Mar 29, 2014 Jason Brandenburg Ky US
  Knew the product was good before I ordered it but once I had it in my hands turned a average weapon into a piece if art
DurePark and DuraBlue (5/5) Apr 23, 2016 Rick DAlessandro Rockville MD US
  Worked like a charm!! DuraPark black and DuraBlue matte black aerosol!Used one each on each of my 1100s separately. Make sure you get the DuraCoat TrueStrip. FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!

The DuraBlue matte black is really matte. I have reordered and am getting Polished black. Will spray over the matte.

Most fun I've had messing with my guns! Showed my shooting friends and they want me to do theirs.

As an aside I also refinished my stocks. My first time for both DuraCoat and wood refinishing.

Love it!!!!! I think it made my guns shoot better :-).
Aged Bronze Aerosol (5/5) Mar 11, 2017 Shawn C Coon Jefferson City Mi US
  WOW, guns look great! Very easy process all though it took three cans to finish two guns, may have been the color not covering well or I might have went a little heavy. Will absolutely order again, might try a kit and airbrush next time. Had a lot of fun with the whole process, had two friends order kits after they saw my results. Can't say enough good things about the company and the product, from ordering to delivery. Ordered my last can around noon on a Wednesday and it was here by 3:00 pm on Friday.

These people are very professional and there was absolutely no hassles involved!

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6