Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Excellent (5/5) Sep 25, 2013 Zach Foltz Tucson Ar US
  I had an old Remingotn 870. My first gun. I had to replace several parts, including the barrel. The finish was marred and ugly, and the replacement barrel I installed was a completely different color. So I decided to look around for an alternative finish for my beloved scattergun. I ended up here, at Duracoat's website. I wasn't looking to spend gobs of money on a finish, but I did want the utmost quality. This shake 'N spray kit was exactly what I was looking for. The shipping was quick, and the application was easy and took little time. It is easy to apply and s very durable, and very pleasing to the eye. Now my 870 is back to it's old beautiful glory, and I couldn't be happier.
Xyz_racer (5/5) Apr 12, 2014 xyz racer shelby nc US
  I duracoated the stainless slide on my Kahr CM9 and it came out great. If you can use spray paint, you can use the shake N spray duracoat kit. The hardest thing about the process was to dissamble the slide... no joke! I will absolutely purchase another shake n spray kit for my next project.
2nd order (5/5) Jan 4, 2013 wrs allentown pa US
  you guys are the best.not only did i refinished my glock i also did my ps3,but now every1 that sees my gun n ps3 wants to buy it....got people asking me coat even there mom in law.lol.guys keep up the good job
rangerbill (4/5) Feb 16, 2013 william dorsey Bowie AZ US
  not quite as neat as an air brush but it works great for single color apps.
Shake n Spray (5/5) May 17, 2014 Vincent Las Vegas Ne US
  WoW , My first complete paint job and it came out looking completely professional . I started with a Polish Tantal that was pretty beat , it looked like someone had done a rattle can job on 40 years ago . The true strip started out working great , after the first couple parts though the scuff pad started getting clogged and i ran out of it pretty fast so i ended up putting the rest of my parts in the blast cabinet to get the major gunk and old paint off . If you don't have access to a media blaster i recommend 2 cans of true strip , the stuff does work excellent but if your doing a complete rifle there is not enough there in my opinion . once i got all of my parts squeeky clean i applied the paint , i used a desert tan series and it went on like buttery smooth , the mix was simple , just follow the directions , or better yet watch the video the dude from lauer custom finishes has on you tube , its very easy to understand and if you can follow his direction your almost guaranteed good results . i did three coats waiting about 4 minutes between each , just make sure you don't use too much and don't get too close to your parts when spraying , do make sure you cover the complete part , look at it from all angles and make sure your getting even coverage . i did it in my garage with the garage door open all the way at night when there was no wind at all and the temp was a dry 68 degrees , my stuff came out crazy good , i really cant believe how good it looks and it feels like a really strong coating . remember , clean parts and even thorough coats will get awesome results .
Love this stuff (5/5) Jun 28, 2014 Trace Henley Crystal springs Mi US
  Very easy to apply. Goes on very evenly with no bubbles or runs
Third time to use it and it never disappoints me.
The prep work is absolutely the most critical step
I always use the entire can of degreaser supplied
With the kit. I let it air dry. Then put on latex surgical
Gloves to do the taping. I'm sure I'll be using more dura coat
In the future.
Outstanding!!!!!! (5/5) Oct 14, 2013 Tony Dee Peabody MA US
  I just rebuilt my short gun; it is now a Tactical Monster. I cut down the barrel
To legal size broke it down to bare bones (not necessary) I thought that was the easy part
WRONG spray painting was by far the easiest. Just read the directions and follow them to the tea
And that is it. This stuff is unbelievable. My short gun now looks like it just came off the show room floor. If you’re reading this you must be thinking of doing it, think no longer. Just Do It. You be glad you did. I will bet on it.
-Tony
Shake N Spray (5/5) Jun 20, 2014 Tom Ferguson Riverview Fl US
  Just finished using the Shake N Spray kit in Magpul FDE on my AR-15. Worked great. I live in Florida so I used retarder because of the humidity and flattner because I didn't want any gloss. It came out perfect. I will do another!
shakenspray (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 todd oewns montgomery al US
  Duracoat is an excellent product. Descriptions are correct. Durable, scratch resistant, chemical and cleaner resistant. Shake and spray kit, my opinion, 66 % chance the spray part will not work correctly. I bought and used my first kit and it was flawless. The next two spray kits, did not function correctly. I suggest using an airbrush. Yes you will have a little more money into your first project, but worth the hassle of a poor shake and spray backyard job.
vray1 (3/5) Dec 20, 2012 Thomas V Ray Cartersville Ga US
  I purchased the Dura Coat shake and spray system I followed the instructions religously then when I went to sray the only thing that came out of the preval spayer was splatter what a big let down I could not get a smooth spray pattern I had to wipe the barrel down with acetone degrease and put the paint in my sprayer which worked out real well The dura coat is a very good product but stay away from the preval spayer

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21