Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Works great (5/5) Jan 12, 2013 Glenn Tarpley Canton Te US
  Just follow directions carefully. Worked great for me and was easy to get a nice smooth finish.
Excellent Product (5/5) May 25, 2013 Glenn W. Robinson Peach Bottom PA US
  I purchased the 4 oz shake and spray to coat my Remington 870 Police Magnum with the color Remington Black. I will have to wait and see how well the coating holds up to abuse but if it works then I will be buying quite a few more items from them to do some of my AK's and one or two other shotguns. I can not believe I was going to spend $350.00 to have someone else refinish my shotgun. Now that said, if the finish does not hold up then needless to say I will not be back to buy more product.
Pure professional results (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 gordonrusselltaylor MECHANICSVILLE VA
  I read all the many reviews of this product before making my purchase. No bad reviews.
I have a fairly new Mossberg persuader with blued finish. I wanted to give the gun a new (meaner) look. I ordered the ultra flat black tactical. Shipping was extra quick. I disassembled the gun and followed the simple instructions, preped and painted the firearm. The results are no less than amazing. NO ONE would believe I painted the gun. I just looks like a mean looking factory gun!
I assembled the gun after a 3 day cure and I banged the new finish a few times in the process. No damage. I can tell this stuff is hard.
Now I understand why this product has no bad reviews.
good stuff (5/5) May 30, 2015 Grady harn US
  Received in good order and in a timely manner as advertised. I used the kit to refinish an old Iver Johnson 410 single shot, that I am giving to one of my grandsons. It turned out great.
GREG (5/5) Jan 19, 2013 Greg Seaford VA VA US
  Works great, I repainted my shotgun receiver. I sprayed in my garage and hung it up over my kerosene heater which baked it on really well. seems tough and looks great.



owner (3/5) Jan 18, 2013 greg beal Cataldo id US
  after applying gun blue shake & spray on my gun receiver i found out it does go on pretty easy and smooth. it will go over filled and primed areas with no problems. i also applied it to bare steel and blued steel parts with the same results. the problem is the color does not look anything like real bluing. it's more of a satin black with a blue tint painted look. i was hoping it would look a lot better. G.B.
Stealth Grey 1911 (5/5) Nov 11, 2013 Greg Watts Mason Oh US
  This product works as advertised and looks great on my 1911. Proper preparation and thin even coats are the formula for success! Take your time cleaning, taping off, and degreasing and spray about 10-12 inches away and you will be rewarded with a nice finish and protectant. I used a little bit of duracoats thinning agent and the spray was very easy to layer on my handgun.
Walther PK380 (5/5) Sep 29, 2013 Gregory J Von Rox Lemont Il US
  I must admit I was a little skeptical about the quality of finish I would get out of the shake and spray system. The prep work was simple and self explanatory while taping off what I did not want coated was time consuming yet easy as well. Now for the spraying, I mixed and shook the product as directed and went on to spray. The spray seemed to come out in an erratic and uneven fashion and I was a little scared about ruining my brand new gun. I sprayed a total of three coats, by the time the third coat dried, I was AMAZED at the fit and finish of the Duracoat. It looks great as well as professional. I could not be any happier. Total time from prep to finish, one hour and ten minutes! Anyone can do this! I wish I could show a picture with this review!
Tactical Black (5/5) Mar 22, 2014 Guy Fleetwood Germantown Tn US
  1. Picking the color that you want - with out worry
a. In my experience I was confusing - colors all looked different than the examples that were given on Duracoat sites and posts through out the gun forums - Finally Duracoat came out with color deck and color samples were painted with the paint you would be applying to your gun
b. I bought the color deck - It had the colors I was interested in tactical flat - the color samples are small and to realize the true color I had to take the colors outside in the daylight and there I could see the true colors - you will need this color deck for tactical colors because there are no other options at this point to be sure of the color you want - not all the Duracoat colors are in this color deck so in my opinion you will have to pick the color you like and buy the color chip of your selection to see if it is actually that color - the Duracoat color selections on the sites and elsewhere simply are not true color in my opinion.
c. I picked Tactical Black for my project and the color was almost a perfect match of my Black XDm compact 45 - so if your looking for a black color that looks like your XDm Tactical black is very close .
3. I researched and researched this color selection problem I had and this is the way to go so as not to be disappointed .

2. Read and follow directions to the letter
a. cleaning most important
b. application: several light coats for professional look ( it's true )
c.don't mess with gun or whatever for at least couple days
3. Duracoat is the way to go if it is a do it yourself project - Color selection is key to being satisfied with your project - painting the gun is easy
4. That's my experience with Duracoat - I hope it helps - Good luck


Tactical ultra flat black (5/5) May 25, 2013 Guy Fleetwood Germantown Tn US
  I researched the Duracoat color sheens on forums and utube for a couple weeks and decided on the tactical ultra flat colors for my taste. I bought the duracoat tactical ultra flat black in the shake and spray and received the the product in 3 or 4 days. I followed the directions ( prep is most important - get the surface clean! with the degreaser and cleaning pad ) sprayed from about 8" ( 3 coats ) and the finish was outstanding. I carry a XDm 45 and the tactical ultra flat black was almost the same color and sheen. I could not be more pleased. Now if I could only find a way to compare my next color choice. I'm close to 70 yrs. old and any body can use Shake and Spray.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21