Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Paint worked well (4/5) Jan 9, 2016 Chris Brookfield CT US
  I selected the magpul flat dark earth aerosol can with hardener. The paint works well however it is somewhat difficult to get an even spray from the aerosol cans. In the future I will purchase Duracoat paints again but I will probably use an airbrush to apply them.
Duracoat (3/5) May 28, 2016 Chris howard League city Tx US
  After following all directions to the letter what I have found is this:

After cleaning all parts with tru strip, I coated them with the Duracoat Aerosol as per manufacturer instructions.
Once coating was complete I let sit for 30 days prior to assembly.
It does go on quite easily.
It is an amazing color.
Upon assembly, my upper was scratched at the sight attachment points.
If I bump it against anything(wood, plastic, metal) it scratches.

It appears to scratch off rather easily. As such, I would say that it's not worth the almost 60.00 it cost for the paint and delivery

At this point, I am disappointed in the end result but still give it 3 stars because of the ease of application and color. There has got to be a way to toughen up the finish.
! Cool Product (5/5) Nov 15, 2015 Combat Valor x 5 Lexington KY US
  this stuff work great, following instruction to the T BUT add in personal experience quick drying steps as in between spray the aerosol paint bake in the oven at 500 degrees for 15 minutes and let cool for 30 minutes and spray the next coat. this can allowed me to spray 4 layers for 2 stripped AR10 lower and 2 AR15 stripped uppers
bottom line is this product does what it designed for! AND already planning on purchasing more of the same aerosol paint to redo my 80% AR10 build
Easier than you'd think (4/5) Oct 24, 2016 craig collins Thatcher Ar US
  The aerosol spray kit is very easy to do - if you have ever spray-painted anything successfully, you can get great results with this. The amount of coverage is the only reason I rated 4 stars instead of 5 stars, as I used 3 cans to get complete coverage of two long guns. If I did the same job again, I would order 1 kit in FDE and one can of white as a primer. Since I was coating all black parts with the FDE, I used a lot of coats just to completely cover the black. On a positive note, the spray clear in the kit is enough to clean 2 long guns. I would recommend this product as the end result is just what I hoped for, and the durability seems excellent.
Good Results (4/5) Apr 26, 2014 Dan Fite Sparks NV US
  I used the rattle can to spray my Sig 225 and my son's Ruger Blackhawk. The spray was a little heavier than I would have liked. I ended up with a bright spot on the Sig and a run on the barrel of the Blackhawk, both of which were my fault, not the Duracoat product. The problem was that I didn't notice the bright spot or the run until the next day. Since the product literature said the spray can would be viable for 48 hours I sanded off the run and tried to apply another coat to the Blackhawk barrel. The spray can spit globs of Duracoat at the barrel making a splattered mess. When it started to dry it evened out somewhat but left an ugly textured appearance. All the other parts came out beautiful. Lesson learned. If you use the spray can make sure you spray from an 18 to 20 inch distance, not the 10 to 12 recommended in the instructions or the spray pattern will be too heavy, and paint everything you intend to paint with the first use of the product. Any product that dries in the spray nozzle no matter how small will ruin any future spray effort even if the product in the can is still viable. Also check your work to make sure you have complete coverage, because if you find you have a problem the next day you will end up having to buy another can of product to correct your mistakes.

I stripped the barrel of the Blackhawk with lacquer thinner and ordered another kit, this time Shake and Spray but I haven't had a chance to use it yet because of the weather being to cold. This time I will make sure the barrel is nice and warm and the product is warm, and keep my distance to apply a couple of light coats.

I love the product but it is not as easy to spray as paint in a regular spray can. I would not hesitate to use it again.
Full kit (5/5) May 25, 2015 Dan Plante Quartz Hill Ca US
  The aerosol full kit was really easy to use. I put a shilen stainless barrel on a pre64 model 70 and wanted a Matt black finish on all the metal. The slite gloss on the Matt black spray was actually a perfect match to the finish I did on the wood stock. I left a satin look to the wood so the slite gloss of the Matt black really makes the gun stand out beautifully. Don't know about durability of the product yet. I will be letting the spray cure for at least 4 weeks before I site it back in. Take your time and do the prep work and you should get top quality results. If it is as durable as it looks this stuff is outstanding. This particular gun was my fathers, so to have it turn out so we'll is really exiting for me. Wil use again if a finish needs to be put on another gun in the future.
Bathtub repair (5/5) Feb 27, 2016 David Heuring Wilmington NC US
  I have used DuraCoat on firearms for quite some time now. It is impervious to just about everything. So, when the drain on my 1967 porcelain coated steel bathtub rusted out, I turned to 2 products. Marine RX for the repair and DuraCoat for the coating!!
I changed the tub color to white from baby blue and the tub came out awesome with the Aerosol Can in a Can paint.
I have no doubts that the tub will provide many years of daily use with the DuraCoat paint protecting it!!!
You should see the pictures of the difference!!! Thanks DuraCoat!!
Magpul FDE - perfect match! (5/5) Jan 31, 2016 Dennis Pe US
  A few years ago I coated a gun with Magpul FDE. It was a poor color match to actual Magpul FDE products. Not anymore! this color has been adjusted and is a PERFECT match! Nice job.
Andy (4/5) Mar 21, 2014 Douglas Hyde Copperhill TN US
  Last I checked no one had reviewed the Aerosol Can product. I ordered Gloss Black, applied it to an old Model 60 and refinished the stock. Looks better...
Easy to use ! (5/5) Oct 10, 2015 Emery Omaha NE US
  Excellent result - system very ez to use but be sure to clean thouroughly. When you think you're done cleaning, clean one more time !

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6