Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Aresol (4/5) Apr 16, 2016 Joe Standridge West Peoria IL US
  I love the ability to paint my guns and at an easy rate. I recently painted my 1911 and followed all recommended steps. However some higher friction areas the paint is coming off and that's the only negative thing.
Paint worked well (4/5) Jan 9, 2016 Chris Brookfield CT US
  I selected the magpul flat dark earth aerosol can with hardener. The paint works well however it is somewhat difficult to get an even spray from the aerosol cans. In the future I will purchase Duracoat paints again but I will probably use an airbrush to apply them.
Great Product (4/5) Apr 21, 2015 Anonymous
  Only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the product states enough is in the can for "2 to 4 firearms"... didn't get that out of it by a long shot, but I did put multiple coats on multiple parts so...

In any event the aerosol mixes as advertised and sprays as advertised. There was a video from Mr. Lauer on YouTube regarding this that said to use a hair drier to dry off the solvents between coats which helps to speed up the between-coat time. Multiple light coats is the way to go (as with any spray paint) and the product results are very nice; just wish there was more in the can!
Really Like Aerosol Kit Convenience (4/5) Nov 22, 2014 Tom D. Safford AZ US
  The new aerosol packaging is welcomed by those of us that don't want to deal with mixing and air brush equipment. Followed the instructions and had great results on an old scope and Ruger M77 bottom metal. The HK Black color matched the original semi gloss Ruger bottom metal color very closely. I would give a five star rating except for the following reasons 1) Instructions say that the material has a pot life of 48 hours once the hardener and resin paint material is mixed in the spray can. I tested this at about 38 hours after shaking the can for about 10 minutes and the material barely sputtered from the nozzle and was not useable. it is important to spray all the pieces you want coated as soon as possible after introducing the hardener to the resin. 2) The 12 oz. aerosol can was about twice as much material as what I needed to coat my scope and bottom metal so the remainder went into the trash. A smaller Aerosol Kit say 7 or 8 oz. would be more appropriate for small jobs.
parker color (4/5) Jun 7, 2014 paul drossart manistique mi US
  used it on my ak. easy to use but too shiny.
Good Results (4/5) Apr 26, 2014 Dan Fite Sparks NV US
  I used the rattle can to spray my Sig 225 and my son's Ruger Blackhawk. The spray was a little heavier than I would have liked. I ended up with a bright spot on the Sig and a run on the barrel of the Blackhawk, both of which were my fault, not the Duracoat product. The problem was that I didn't notice the bright spot or the run until the next day. Since the product literature said the spray can would be viable for 48 hours I sanded off the run and tried to apply another coat to the Blackhawk barrel. The spray can spit globs of Duracoat at the barrel making a splattered mess. When it started to dry it evened out somewhat but left an ugly textured appearance. All the other parts came out beautiful. Lesson learned. If you use the spray can make sure you spray from an 18 to 20 inch distance, not the 10 to 12 recommended in the instructions or the spray pattern will be too heavy, and paint everything you intend to paint with the first use of the product. Any product that dries in the spray nozzle no matter how small will ruin any future spray effort even if the product in the can is still viable. Also check your work to make sure you have complete coverage, because if you find you have a problem the next day you will end up having to buy another can of product to correct your mistakes.

I stripped the barrel of the Blackhawk with lacquer thinner and ordered another kit, this time Shake and Spray but I haven't had a chance to use it yet because of the weather being to cold. This time I will make sure the barrel is nice and warm and the product is warm, and keep my distance to apply a couple of light coats.

I love the product but it is not as easy to spray as paint in a regular spray can. I would not hesitate to use it again.
Andy (4/5) Mar 21, 2014 Douglas Hyde Copperhill TN US
  Last I checked no one had reviewed the Aerosol Can product. I ordered Gloss Black, applied it to an old Model 60 and refinished the stock. Looks better...
Aerosol (5/5) Sep 2, 2017 Michael Sheedy Schenectady Ne US
  So easy to use! Make sure you have completely cleaned your fireararm, or other project and you are 90% there.
Paint in light coats coverage complete in 3 coats. Easy to use, Tough as nails finish. Magpul colors match perfect.
amazing product (5/5) Aug 3, 2017 Anonymous
  I painted an AK with in a four color flecktarn pattern. The result is amazing. The paint was easy to use and apply. The finish is amazingly durable. The only problem is that now I want to paint every weapon in my gun safe...
Aerosol kit (5/5) Jul 29, 2017 Samuel Butler Mobile 36587 Al US
  I tried cerakote paid for wrong spray gun and got nowhere was told by a friend of DuraCoat arousal gave it a call and got helpful service from their staff. Ordered as Soon as I got off the phone and was not disapointed! Painted my Charles daily and Rock island 45 acp both look amazing and I'm already ordering more kits of blues blacks and other family colors. I recommend theses starter kits for all my friends and people I know who want to have their own weapons looking great and scratch free.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6