Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Andy (4/5) Mar 21, 2014 Douglas Hyde Copperhill TN US
  Last I checked no one had reviewed the Aerosol Can product. I ordered Gloss Black, applied it to an old Model 60 and refinished the stock. Looks better...
Very impressed (5/5) Jul 15, 2017 Reid Cumming GA US
  I used the Durablue for a o/u barrel and it came out great. I would suggest that it takes two cans.
Quality products and fast shipping (5/5) Apr 2, 2016 Eric B. Dallas TX
  This duracoat spray is so ez to apply. With great results. I recommend it to anyone trying to make their pistol a little different from all the others out there. And so many colors to choose from.
2 guns with duracoat (5/5) Sep 23, 2016 Charles Fort Worth Te US
  The first gun was an AR-10 that was painted in Magpul FDE while it was still in parts. All parts were new, unused. I scuffed everything with 180 sandpaper, including the stainless barrel. One can painted the entire gun and scope. I used a hair dryer between coats to flash off aerosol and to help set the coat. I put the gun together 2 days later and put it up. The only place the coating came off was right on the sharp edge of the barrel. This gun gets used heavily and very happy with results. Second was a Remington 721 300 H&H that was painted in Matte Black. Same process, same results. Has been to New Mexico and Idaho with the only finish loss coming on one spot of the bolt handle being in a leather scabbard. Do not count on a can doing more than one long gun; it isn't going to happen. It is a tough product and is easy to apply. They should probably change the amount of coverage expectation, which I think would help with customer satisfaction.
Magpul flat dark earth kit (5/5) Sep 4, 2016 Paul M Fort Worth Te US
  Extremely easy to use, prep is everything when using this kit. Full and total degrease is a must for this to adhere to what you are coating. I coated an AR pistol so one can was plenty, larger Rifles may take two cans for full coverage. Very satisfied with this kit.
Easy as pie (5/5) Aug 6, 2016 Mark Karkos Fort Worth Te US
  I purchased the spray can product as a test to see how well it worked. I was pleasantly surprised to find it was easier to use than normal spray paint. The application process is quick, my only complaint is having to shake the can for 6 minutes.
Excellent (5/5) Nov 1, 2015 John Grimes Garden City NY US
  Your product did a great job on my almost 50 year old S&W revolvers. Just 3 suggestions-
1- a larger 3M pad
2- ship your product in a plain box without Duracoat Firearm Finishers on the outside-
3- use spellcheck or a proof reader on your review e-mail(received is misspelled).
Buy your own spray gun (3/5) Aug 5, 2017 Philip Nagel Gettysburg So US
  The overall product was great. However the aerosol application was wasteful and uneven. As the can started to get closer to empty, it sprayed in kind of a blotchy way that created a rough finish.
I sanded the firearm down, and reordered the 4oz bottle to apply the material with my own equipment.

Overall, Duracoat is a great product, but I have been burned by both the Prevail applicator and the aerosol method. Its best - and cheapest - to use your own sprayer.
Tactical Light Grey (5/5) Jul 22, 2017 Taylor Wiseman Greenwood IN US
  I recently purchased the tactical light grey aerosol and the color is exactly what I was looking for. This is not my first Duracoat purchase and definitely not my last. I had a slight issue with the can. I was about half way through painting the second rifle (AR Uppler, Lower, and 15 inch Rail), and the paint started to spray out in big drops rather than a fine mist. I switched caps after cleaning it, tried to clear the lines using the air compressor and spraying the can upside down, but soon after it seemed as if all the are s was gone yet there was still paint in the can. Like I said not my first time, I weigh every can prior to start and they are always 12 Ozs and an empty can weighs between 4-4.5 Ozs. This can still weighed.7 ozs. Now for the part that made me a dedicated customer, I contacted Houts and let them know of the issue and laid out the steps I took for prep and painting and I received an email the next business day saying it sounded like the can failed and a new can would be sent out. I received it two days later! That kind of service is what everyone wants personal, direct, and no nonsense. I have since finished the rifles and they look amazing. You don't have to be a certified professional to use these products, all you have to do is follow directions and you will end up with a professional result.
Aerosol Kit (3/5) Jan 21, 2016 Brett Boyd Hahira GA US
  I have used the mix and shake product in the past and have had fantastic results. I am giving this particular product a 3 not because the chemical itself is any different, but because once you reach the end of the can, it spurts and sputters causing the finish to become rougher. I would also add that it might do 4 firearms if they were all 22 derringers. If you get Duracoat, definitey stay with the mix and shake (glass bottle).

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6