Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Customer Service (5/5) Sep 28, 2014 Rob Jones Vancouver WA US
  I purchased the Aerosol can in a can method, in magpul FDE. The paint went on easy and thin. It took several coats to achieve a very smooth and uniform finish. The product performed perfectly, it's also very forgiving. I had a small run, I let it set-up a bit and lightly scuffed it with a scotchbrite pad, then re coated it and the run was gone. The only issue i had was in the claim that the activated paint will last up to 48 hours, I got a little over 12 and it started to gel. I was disappointed and sent an email. within minutes (on a sunday) I had a reply and a solution to the problem was offered. "OUTSTANDING" Customer service!!! I will absolutely use this again, and I highly recommend there products to anyone.
In my opinion a company isn't just about there products, but how that company stands behind there products and offers solutions to there customers, Anthony Houts is doing it right!!
DuraBlue Aerosol kit (4/5) May 21, 2016 Charles Barr Canal Winchester Oh US
  The aerosol can works well. It does lay down a lot of volume though. I think Mr. Houts was correct when he told me that you will waste less product if you use an airbrush. I ended up running out of product because I was bluing 2 firearms at the same time, and the aerosol can dispenses at a high volume.
The can is very convenient though, with the hardener being inside the can.
Additionally, in my case I was restoring an old, beat up shotgun. In hindsight I think I would have used DuraFill to fill some pits, and provide better adhesion to the bare metal. So, if you're spraying bare metal (ie, no parkerizing or anodizing), make sure you apply very light coats at first. This will allow your subsequent coats to adhere better.
When I was done though, it looked great. Outstanding product. I've now used DuraCoat in all 3 methods: Can, airbrush, and HVLP sprayer.
Duracoat (3/5) May 28, 2016 Chris howard League city Tx US
  After following all directions to the letter what I have found is this:

After cleaning all parts with tru strip, I coated them with the Duracoat Aerosol as per manufacturer instructions.
Once coating was complete I let sit for 30 days prior to assembly.
It does go on quite easily.
It is an amazing color.
Upon assembly, my upper was scratched at the sight attachment points.
If I bump it against anything(wood, plastic, metal) it scratches.

It appears to scratch off rather easily. As such, I would say that it's not worth the almost 60.00 it cost for the paint and delivery

At this point, I am disappointed in the end result but still give it 3 stars because of the ease of application and color. There has got to be a way to toughen up the finish.
Duracoat 4 Life (5/5) Jul 16, 2017 Ted Veatch Champaign Il US
  Coated an old crossman mark ii for a friend and could not be happier with the results. Very easy to use the kit and the finish is even, elegant and durable. Had a small issue with my first shipment to which customer support went above and beyond to rectify in record time. I'm now a fan and user of duracoat products for life, thanks again for creating and providing such a great product with an exceptional team behind it.
DuraCoat Aerosol Complete Kit (5/5) Jun 17, 2017 John J Wright Zebulon Ge US
  I am well pleased with the DuraCoat products. I used the Russian Special Forces Brown on a Ar15 & Coyote Brown on a H&K G3. Both turned out great. Will use it again.
Duracoat coating (5/5) Dec 24, 2016 Jerry Weed Borger TX US
  Worked like a charm. The pink was great my daughter in law loved it.
DurePark and DuraBlue (5/5) Apr 23, 2016 Rick DAlessandro Rockville MD US
  Worked like a charm!! DuraPark black and DuraBlue matte black aerosol!Used one each on each of my 1100s separately. Make sure you get the DuraCoat TrueStrip. FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!

The DuraBlue matte black is really matte. I have reordered and am getting Polished black. Will spray over the matte.

Most fun I've had messing with my guns! Showed my shooting friends and they want me to do theirs.

As an aside I also refinished my stocks. My first time for both DuraCoat and wood refinishing.

Love it!!!!! I think it made my guns shoot better :-).
Easier than you'd think (4/5) Oct 24, 2016 craig collins Thatcher Ar US
  The aerosol spray kit is very easy to do - if you have ever spray-painted anything successfully, you can get great results with this. The amount of coverage is the only reason I rated 4 stars instead of 5 stars, as I used 3 cans to get complete coverage of two long guns. If I did the same job again, I would order 1 kit in FDE and one can of white as a primer. Since I was coating all black parts with the FDE, I used a lot of coats just to completely cover the black. On a positive note, the spray clear in the kit is enough to clean 2 long guns. I would recommend this product as the end result is just what I hoped for, and the durability seems excellent.
Easy as pie (5/5) Aug 6, 2016 Mark Karkos Fort Worth Te US
  I purchased the spray can product as a test to see how well it worked. I was pleasantly surprised to find it was easier to use than normal spray paint. The application process is quick, my only complaint is having to shake the can for 6 minutes.
Easy to use ! (5/5) Oct 10, 2015 Emery Omaha NE US
  Excellent result - system very ez to use but be sure to clean thouroughly. When you think you're done cleaning, clean one more time !

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6