Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Excellent (5/5) Nov 1, 2015 John Grimes Garden City NY US
  Your product did a great job on my almost 50 year old S&W revolvers. Just 3 suggestions-
1- a larger 3M pad
2- ship your product in a plain box without Duracoat Firearm Finishers on the outside-
3- use spellcheck or a proof reader on your review e-mail(received is misspelled).
First timer... (5/5) Jul 28, 2014 Steve R Thousand Oaks CA US
  ok, this was the first time i have ever used any product to refinish a gun/parts. i got the full kit (black matte), instructions are clear and straight forward for the most part.

i had read about matte being too shinny in some cases and i learned the hard way to follow the directions!!! this does NOT go on like regular spray paint, it is made to go on in very thin coats (as stated in the directions :-) ) ...DO NOT WORRY ABOUT COVERAGE. after 3 or a few more coats you will have more than needed coverage.

BUT if you spay it too heavy, you will get a smooth SHINNY coating. luckily for me, the part of the barrel that i did wrong (too thick) will not be seen because of the hand guard. everything else (once i learned my lesson) turned out great, as it should.

i will definitely use this product in the future... Steve
Fred Marshall (5/5) May 3, 2014 Fred Marshall Ramer Al US
  Received my Dura Coat Aerosol a few days ago, and couldn't be more pleased. Easy-to-follow instructions made the whole process a snap. Just like the company says, if you've ever used spray paint to paint lawn furniture etc., you'll find no problem using Dura Coat Aerosol. I used it to cover a couple of AR free-float handguards.
Full kit (5/5) May 25, 2015 Dan Plante Quartz Hill Ca US
  The aerosol full kit was really easy to use. I put a shilen stainless barrel on a pre64 model 70 and wanted a Matt black finish on all the metal. The slite gloss on the Matt black spray was actually a perfect match to the finish I did on the wood stock. I left a satin look to the wood so the slite gloss of the Matt black really makes the gun stand out beautifully. Don't know about durability of the product yet. I will be letting the spray cure for at least 4 weeks before I site it back in. Take your time and do the prep work and you should get top quality results. If it is as durable as it looks this stuff is outstanding. This particular gun was my fathers, so to have it turn out so we'll is really exiting for me. Wil use again if a finish needs to be put on another gun in the future.
Ghost gray (5/5) Nov 23, 2016 Victor maskey Mobile Al US
  First time to use and found it so easy. Excellent product so far. Would love to post before and after pics but don't know how...
Good price (3/5) May 9, 2015 Gene Haynes Heavener Ok US
  Bought the can of DuraCoat Matte Black, it worked as advertised.
I finished several parts it came out beautiful,
some small runs but when it dried about 24 hours later they were gone, everyone at the pawn shop
where I visit were visit were impressed.
I tried to spray a barrel of a 1890 Winchester the
next morning, all I got was a sputtering and bunch of crap, am completely in awe with the results before. Do not believe it is useful after 24 hours.
I bought a airbrush and going to use it with the
kits provide, will post the results.






Good Results (4/5) Apr 26, 2014 Dan Fite Sparks NV US
  I used the rattle can to spray my Sig 225 and my son's Ruger Blackhawk. The spray was a little heavier than I would have liked. I ended up with a bright spot on the Sig and a run on the barrel of the Blackhawk, both of which were my fault, not the Duracoat product. The problem was that I didn't notice the bright spot or the run until the next day. Since the product literature said the spray can would be viable for 48 hours I sanded off the run and tried to apply another coat to the Blackhawk barrel. The spray can spit globs of Duracoat at the barrel making a splattered mess. When it started to dry it evened out somewhat but left an ugly textured appearance. All the other parts came out beautiful. Lesson learned. If you use the spray can make sure you spray from an 18 to 20 inch distance, not the 10 to 12 recommended in the instructions or the spray pattern will be too heavy, and paint everything you intend to paint with the first use of the product. Any product that dries in the spray nozzle no matter how small will ruin any future spray effort even if the product in the can is still viable. Also check your work to make sure you have complete coverage, because if you find you have a problem the next day you will end up having to buy another can of product to correct your mistakes.

I stripped the barrel of the Blackhawk with lacquer thinner and ordered another kit, this time Shake and Spray but I haven't had a chance to use it yet because of the weather being to cold. This time I will make sure the barrel is nice and warm and the product is warm, and keep my distance to apply a couple of light coats.

I love the product but it is not as easy to spray as paint in a regular spray can. I would not hesitate to use it again.
Great Product (4/5) Apr 21, 2015 Anonymous
  Only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the product states enough is in the can for "2 to 4 firearms"... didn't get that out of it by a long shot, but I did put multiple coats on multiple parts so...

In any event the aerosol mixes as advertised and sprays as advertised. There was a video from Mr. Lauer on YouTube regarding this that said to use a hair drier to dry off the solvents between coats which helps to speed up the between-coat time. Multiple light coats is the way to go (as with any spray paint) and the product results are very nice; just wish there was more in the can!
Great Products (5/5) Feb 13, 2016 Phil Sprague Bensalem Pa US
  I have had repeated success using the products. If you follow the instructions and don't skip any of the steps the results come out looking professional. I have applied Dura Coat to used weapons and they come out looking new. I just purchased the bluing kit and can't wait until the weather warms up, I have an old revolver that the bluing is almost gone. The weapon has sentimental value and I hope it comes out looking as good as the other finishes I have applied. I always recommend the products to family and friends. Thank you for a product that works better than advertised.
LOve this stuff (5/5) Jun 3, 2017 Spencer Roper Virginia Beach VA US
  It sprays well , evenly and looks great,, Dries quickly but does need a little extra time to fully cure, The stuff is KISS simple to use, Just follow the instructions and that's it

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6