Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Very impressed (5/5) Jul 15, 2017 Reid Cumming GA US
  I used the Durablue for a o/u barrel and it came out great. I would suggest that it takes two cans.
Recommend it (5/5) Sep 3, 2016 Rich M Il US
  Did the prep work, (tedious but very necessary and used acetone) and with one can of Air Force ABU Tan I completed 2 AR-15 complete uppers and lowers including the barrels. I removed the hand guard and masked off just forward of the gas block to get a nice clean line on the barrel. I stripped the lower except for the takedown pins. Removed the stock and grip. I made a tree with 2x4 and 5/8 dowel rod for the lowers, made a hanger for the safety, dust cover and mag release. I also made a 2x4 rack and used a brass rod to hold the uppers so I could roll them using a dowel in the takedown pin hole.
I got good coverage except for very light show through on the inside corners of the picatinny rails on the quad rail hand guard, you really have to look hard to see it, but I was nervous about getting it on too wet and running.
I did 1 ar first, and covered it pretty good, including the barrel and had almost a half a can left, so I took a chance on finishing up the 2nd one. Covered the second one and had very little left so I just kept dusting them until it was empty. I did not get the flat look, but I figure that I did not give enough time between coats.
My other can was Wilderness Mirage Tan, it completed two Remington 700 actions, barrels , bolts and bottom metal, plus two scopes. I also just dusted one stock with what I had left. I was a little disappointed in this color because it is more of a greenish than tan. Got good reviews from my buddies tho!
I did wait longer between coats on the 700's , and did get a less glossy look, but still not flat. I am hoping as they cure they will flatten out.
Over all , I would have to say I am very pleased with the product.
DurePark and DuraBlue (5/5) Apr 23, 2016 Rick DAlessandro Rockville MD US
  Worked like a charm!! DuraPark black and DuraBlue matte black aerosol!Used one each on each of my 1100s separately. Make sure you get the DuraCoat TrueStrip. FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!

The DuraBlue matte black is really matte. I have reordered and am getting Polished black. Will spray over the matte.

Most fun I've had messing with my guns! Showed my shooting friends and they want me to do theirs.

As an aside I also refinished my stocks. My first time for both DuraCoat and wood refinishing.

Love it!!!!! I think it made my guns shoot better :-).
Customer Service (5/5) Sep 28, 2014 Rob Jones Vancouver WA US
  I purchased the Aerosol can in a can method, in magpul FDE. The paint went on easy and thin. It took several coats to achieve a very smooth and uniform finish. The product performed perfectly, it's also very forgiving. I had a small run, I let it set-up a bit and lightly scuffed it with a scotchbrite pad, then re coated it and the run was gone. The only issue i had was in the claim that the activated paint will last up to 48 hours, I got a little over 12 and it started to gel. I was disappointed and sent an email. within minutes (on a sunday) I had a reply and a solution to the problem was offered. "OUTSTANDING" Customer service!!! I will absolutely use this again, and I highly recommend there products to anyone.
In my opinion a company isn't just about there products, but how that company stands behind there products and offers solutions to there customers, Anthony Houts is doing it right!!
Awesome Product (5/5) Dec 9, 2015 Roger Perry Bakersfield Ca US
  I've worked with different types of coatings and this was by far the easiest to work with. It went on nice and smooth with zero spattering. I'll definitely use it again.
Aerosol kit (5/5) Jul 29, 2017 Samuel Butler Mobile 36587 Al US
  I tried cerakote paid for wrong spray gun and got nowhere was told by a friend of DuraCoat arousal gave it a call and got helpful service from their staff. Ordered as Soon as I got off the phone and was not disapointed! Painted my Charles daily and Rock island 45 acp both look amazing and I'm already ordering more kits of blues blacks and other family colors. I recommend theses starter kits for all my friends and people I know who want to have their own weapons looking great and scratch free.
Snow Camo GREY? color (5/5) Nov 14, 2015 Semi Nole Liberty Mo US
  OK so for the color naming here I give 1 stars, listen this isn't gray it's beige - I don't tell many people this but I have an art degree, I know my colors, this aint gray. It's a nice beige that has a gray added to it, so I couldn't use it in conjunction with any other grays or blacks as the base tone is brown. However - there exist another situation in the world where people claim that this color is gray and it's the interior of the 2001 to 2005 Tacoma! This color is almost an exact match for the "gray" (they have a beige and a grey option for these trucks - it's like they took the beige option and added 1/32 ratio of grey and called it grey, honestly why bother if they are so close to the same color) interior for these trucks and I have one, I also have made custom speaker pods for the pillars and doors and this color allowed me to finally match them to the interior so for that 5 stars. After this I ordered the Artic Gray, Arctic Shadow Gray, and Tactical Light Gray. Arctic Gray definitely looks to have a good amount brownbase in it. I think if you're after a true light gray you're going to have to go with Arctic Shadow which seems to have the least amount of brown base but I am still suspicious that it does have a little, they all seem too.
Aged Bronze Aerosol (5/5) Mar 11, 2017 Shawn C Coon Jefferson City Mi US
  WOW, guns look great! Very easy process all though it took three cans to finish two guns, may have been the color not covering well or I might have went a little heavy. Will absolutely order again, might try a kit and airbrush next time. Had a lot of fun with the whole process, had two friends order kits after they saw my results. Can't say enough good things about the company and the product, from ordering to delivery. Ordered my last can around noon on a Wednesday and it was here by 3:00 pm on Friday.

These people are very professional and there was absolutely no hassles involved!
LOve this stuff (5/5) Jun 3, 2017 Spencer Roper Virginia Beach VA US
  It sprays well , evenly and looks great,, Dries quickly but does need a little extra time to fully cure, The stuff is KISS simple to use, Just follow the instructions and that's it
First timer... (5/5) Jul 28, 2014 Steve R Thousand Oaks CA US
  ok, this was the first time i have ever used any product to refinish a gun/parts. i got the full kit (black matte), instructions are clear and straight forward for the most part.

i had read about matte being too shinny in some cases and i learned the hard way to follow the directions!!! this does NOT go on like regular spray paint, it is made to go on in very thin coats (as stated in the directions :-) ) ...DO NOT WORRY ABOUT COVERAGE. after 3 or a few more coats you will have more than needed coverage.

BUT if you spay it too heavy, you will get a smooth SHINNY coating. luckily for me, the part of the barrel that i did wrong (too thick) will not be seen because of the hand guard. everything else (once i learned my lesson) turned out great, as it should.

i will definitely use this product in the future... Steve

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6