Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Awesome (5/5) Mar 6, 2014 Will Farrugia Lake Worth Fl US
  I was very skeptical about a finish in a can..............But!. easy, fast, cheap, and in the end spectacular finish. My 15 year old Savage .308 looks like a brand new gun. Many more projects on the horizon.
Two part kit & Shake / Spray Clear (4/5) Mar 6, 2017 Gene Diehl Peoria Ar US
  I found these products to be excellent . Both ; the Stainless Steel spray , and the Clear worked very well. My single recommendation to anyone using any of the Dura-Coat products is to have a clean , smooth , properly sanded & prepped surface . Contamination of any kind will destroy your paint job . Sand , clean , clean it again .
The spray cleaner included in the kit was outstanding when used with the scotch-brite pad for final prep . Just give it about five to ten minutes to evaporate before attempting to use paint .
I would have given it five stars if the Stainless Steel had been closer in color to real stainless , than the soft grey color that is almost identical to the color Honda uses to paint their engines on the Goldwing Motorcycle .
I have that color in my paint cabinet ; ( own two G-W's ) and have re-painted the motors . Besides ; I could have saved forty bucks .

Over-all ? A very good product that I would recommend to anyone .
tactical dark earth (4/5) Dec 31, 2016 will gun doc bay saint louis ms US
  this kit is very good value and the products are top quality, however when applying the actual duracoat be very careful and do not spray as you would a regular spray paint. i sprayed approximately 8-10 inches from my rifle in a light coating pattern and still observed a few runs. im not worried about the runs or even the appearance bc it was an old model 88 maverick and the duracoat was applied just to prevent rust and protect the faded and worn blueing.
my advice is use extremely light coats maybe 12 inches from the surface of the weapon.
Easier than you'd think (4/5) Oct 24, 2016 craig collins Thatcher Ar US
  The aerosol spray kit is very easy to do - if you have ever spray-painted anything successfully, you can get great results with this. The amount of coverage is the only reason I rated 4 stars instead of 5 stars, as I used 3 cans to get complete coverage of two long guns. If I did the same job again, I would order 1 kit in FDE and one can of white as a primer. Since I was coating all black parts with the FDE, I used a lot of coats just to completely cover the black. On a positive note, the spray clear in the kit is enough to clean 2 long guns. I would recommend this product as the end result is just what I hoped for, and the durability seems excellent.
DuraBlue Aerosol kit (4/5) May 21, 2016 Charles Barr Canal Winchester Oh US
  The aerosol can works well. It does lay down a lot of volume though. I think Mr. Houts was correct when he told me that you will waste less product if you use an airbrush. I ended up running out of product because I was bluing 2 firearms at the same time, and the aerosol can dispenses at a high volume.
The can is very convenient though, with the hardener being inside the can.
Additionally, in my case I was restoring an old, beat up shotgun. In hindsight I think I would have used DuraFill to fill some pits, and provide better adhesion to the bare metal. So, if you're spraying bare metal (ie, no parkerizing or anodizing), make sure you apply very light coats at first. This will allow your subsequent coats to adhere better.
When I was done though, it looked great. Outstanding product. I've now used DuraCoat in all 3 methods: Can, airbrush, and HVLP sprayer.
Aresol (4/5) Apr 16, 2016 Joe Standridge West Peoria IL US
  I love the ability to paint my guns and at an easy rate. I recently painted my 1911 and followed all recommended steps. However some higher friction areas the paint is coming off and that's the only negative thing.
Paint worked well (4/5) Jan 9, 2016 Chris Brookfield CT US
  I selected the magpul flat dark earth aerosol can with hardener. The paint works well however it is somewhat difficult to get an even spray from the aerosol cans. In the future I will purchase Duracoat paints again but I will probably use an airbrush to apply them.
Great Product (4/5) Apr 21, 2015 Anonymous
  Only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the product states enough is in the can for "2 to 4 firearms"... didn't get that out of it by a long shot, but I did put multiple coats on multiple parts so...

In any event the aerosol mixes as advertised and sprays as advertised. There was a video from Mr. Lauer on YouTube regarding this that said to use a hair drier to dry off the solvents between coats which helps to speed up the between-coat time. Multiple light coats is the way to go (as with any spray paint) and the product results are very nice; just wish there was more in the can!
Really Like Aerosol Kit Convenience (4/5) Nov 22, 2014 Tom D. Safford AZ US
  The new aerosol packaging is welcomed by those of us that don't want to deal with mixing and air brush equipment. Followed the instructions and had great results on an old scope and Ruger M77 bottom metal. The HK Black color matched the original semi gloss Ruger bottom metal color very closely. I would give a five star rating except for the following reasons 1) Instructions say that the material has a pot life of 48 hours once the hardener and resin paint material is mixed in the spray can. I tested this at about 38 hours after shaking the can for about 10 minutes and the material barely sputtered from the nozzle and was not useable. it is important to spray all the pieces you want coated as soon as possible after introducing the hardener to the resin. 2) The 12 oz. aerosol can was about twice as much material as what I needed to coat my scope and bottom metal so the remainder went into the trash. A smaller Aerosol Kit say 7 or 8 oz. would be more appropriate for small jobs.
parker color (4/5) Jun 7, 2014 paul drossart manistique mi US
  used it on my ak. easy to use but too shiny.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6