Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Good Results (4/5) Apr 26, 2014 Dan Fite Sparks NV US
  I used the rattle can to spray my Sig 225 and my son's Ruger Blackhawk. The spray was a little heavier than I would have liked. I ended up with a bright spot on the Sig and a run on the barrel of the Blackhawk, both of which were my fault, not the Duracoat product. The problem was that I didn't notice the bright spot or the run until the next day. Since the product literature said the spray can would be viable for 48 hours I sanded off the run and tried to apply another coat to the Blackhawk barrel. The spray can spit globs of Duracoat at the barrel making a splattered mess. When it started to dry it evened out somewhat but left an ugly textured appearance. All the other parts came out beautiful. Lesson learned. If you use the spray can make sure you spray from an 18 to 20 inch distance, not the 10 to 12 recommended in the instructions or the spray pattern will be too heavy, and paint everything you intend to paint with the first use of the product. Any product that dries in the spray nozzle no matter how small will ruin any future spray effort even if the product in the can is still viable. Also check your work to make sure you have complete coverage, because if you find you have a problem the next day you will end up having to buy another can of product to correct your mistakes.

I stripped the barrel of the Blackhawk with lacquer thinner and ordered another kit, this time Shake and Spray but I haven't had a chance to use it yet because of the weather being to cold. This time I will make sure the barrel is nice and warm and the product is warm, and keep my distance to apply a couple of light coats.

I love the product but it is not as easy to spray as paint in a regular spray can. I would not hesitate to use it again.
Andy (4/5) Mar 21, 2014 Douglas Hyde Copperhill TN US
  Last I checked no one had reviewed the Aerosol Can product. I ordered Gloss Black, applied it to an old Model 60 and refinished the stock. Looks better...
Buy your own spray gun (3/5) Aug 5, 2017 Philip Nagel Gettysburg So US
  The overall product was great. However the aerosol application was wasteful and uneven. As the can started to get closer to empty, it sprayed in kind of a blotchy way that created a rough finish.
I sanded the firearm down, and reordered the 4oz bottle to apply the material with my own equipment.

Overall, Duracoat is a great product, but I have been burned by both the Prevail applicator and the aerosol method. Its best - and cheapest - to use your own sprayer.
Duracoat (3/5) May 28, 2016 Chris howard League city Tx US
  After following all directions to the letter what I have found is this:

After cleaning all parts with tru strip, I coated them with the Duracoat Aerosol as per manufacturer instructions.
Once coating was complete I let sit for 30 days prior to assembly.
It does go on quite easily.
It is an amazing color.
Upon assembly, my upper was scratched at the sight attachment points.
If I bump it against anything(wood, plastic, metal) it scratches.

It appears to scratch off rather easily. As such, I would say that it's not worth the almost 60.00 it cost for the paint and delivery

At this point, I am disappointed in the end result but still give it 3 stars because of the ease of application and color. There has got to be a way to toughen up the finish.
Aerosol Kit (3/5) Jan 21, 2016 Brett Boyd Hahira GA US
  I have used the mix and shake product in the past and have had fantastic results. I am giving this particular product a 3 not because the chemical itself is any different, but because once you reach the end of the can, it spurts and sputters causing the finish to become rougher. I would also add that it might do 4 firearms if they were all 22 derringers. If you get Duracoat, definitey stay with the mix and shake (glass bottle).
Good price (3/5) May 9, 2015 Gene Haynes Heavener Ok US
  Bought the can of DuraCoat Matte Black, it worked as advertised.
I finished several parts it came out beautiful,
some small runs but when it dried about 24 hours later they were gone, everyone at the pawn shop
where I visit were visit were impressed.
I tried to spray a barrel of a 1890 Winchester the
next morning, all I got was a sputtering and bunch of crap, am completely in awe with the results before. Do not believe it is useful after 24 hours.
I bought a airbrush and going to use it with the
kits provide, will post the results.






raybone (3/5) Apr 6, 2015 Anonymous
  Colt grey does not match. Finish is also way too glossy. supposed to be completely flat. Seems to be a tough finish. plan on time getting parts to work correctly again.
Paint colors (3/5) Apr 12, 2014 Mike McCollum Arlington US
  Need larger color swatches. Very difficult for older eyes to see the colors clearly. Yes, older shooters buy your products.

I would also like to see those individual swatches in a download so I can fill my screen and get a feel for the color(a).

I have enjoyed the product.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6