Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Recommend it (5/5) Sep 3, 2016 Rich M Il US
  Did the prep work, (tedious but very necessary and used acetone) and with one can of Air Force ABU Tan I completed 2 AR-15 complete uppers and lowers including the barrels. I removed the hand guard and masked off just forward of the gas block to get a nice clean line on the barrel. I stripped the lower except for the takedown pins. Removed the stock and grip. I made a tree with 2x4 and 5/8 dowel rod for the lowers, made a hanger for the safety, dust cover and mag release. I also made a 2x4 rack and used a brass rod to hold the uppers so I could roll them using a dowel in the takedown pin hole.
I got good coverage except for very light show through on the inside corners of the picatinny rails on the quad rail hand guard, you really have to look hard to see it, but I was nervous about getting it on too wet and running.
I did 1 ar first, and covered it pretty good, including the barrel and had almost a half a can left, so I took a chance on finishing up the 2nd one. Covered the second one and had very little left so I just kept dusting them until it was empty. I did not get the flat look, but I figure that I did not give enough time between coats.
My other can was Wilderness Mirage Tan, it completed two Remington 700 actions, barrels , bolts and bottom metal, plus two scopes. I also just dusted one stock with what I had left. I was a little disappointed in this color because it is more of a greenish than tan. Got good reviews from my buddies tho!
I did wait longer between coats on the 700's , and did get a less glossy look, but still not flat. I am hoping as they cure they will flatten out.
Over all , I would have to say I am very pleased with the product.
snow cammo kit (5/5) Feb 5, 2017 laurie scottdale pa US
  found it very easy to use but I already air brush. more detailed instructions for novice painters to do each of the different patters,
Snow Camo GREY? color (5/5) Nov 14, 2015 Semi Nole Liberty Mo US
  OK so for the color naming here I give 1 stars, listen this isn't gray it's beige - I don't tell many people this but I have an art degree, I know my colors, this aint gray. It's a nice beige that has a gray added to it, so I couldn't use it in conjunction with any other grays or blacks as the base tone is brown. However - there exist another situation in the world where people claim that this color is gray and it's the interior of the 2001 to 2005 Tacoma! This color is almost an exact match for the "gray" (they have a beige and a grey option for these trucks - it's like they took the beige option and added 1/32 ratio of grey and called it grey, honestly why bother if they are so close to the same color) interior for these trucks and I have one, I also have made custom speaker pods for the pillars and doors and this color allowed me to finally match them to the interior so for that 5 stars. After this I ordered the Artic Gray, Arctic Shadow Gray, and Tactical Light Gray. Arctic Gray definitely looks to have a good amount brownbase in it. I think if you're after a true light gray you're going to have to go with Arctic Shadow which seems to have the least amount of brown base but I am still suspicious that it does have a little, they all seem too.
tactical dark earth (4/5) Dec 31, 2016 will gun doc bay saint louis ms US
  this kit is very good value and the products are top quality, however when applying the actual duracoat be very careful and do not spray as you would a regular spray paint. i sprayed approximately 8-10 inches from my rifle in a light coating pattern and still observed a few runs. im not worried about the runs or even the appearance bc it was an old model 88 maverick and the duracoat was applied just to prevent rust and protect the faded and worn blueing.
my advice is use extremely light coats maybe 12 inches from the surface of the weapon.
Tactical Light Grey (5/5) Jul 22, 2017 Taylor Wiseman Greenwood IN US
  I recently purchased the tactical light grey aerosol and the color is exactly what I was looking for. This is not my first Duracoat purchase and definitely not my last. I had a slight issue with the can. I was about half way through painting the second rifle (AR Uppler, Lower, and 15 inch Rail), and the paint started to spray out in big drops rather than a fine mist. I switched caps after cleaning it, tried to clear the lines using the air compressor and spraying the can upside down, but soon after it seemed as if all the are s was gone yet there was still paint in the can. Like I said not my first time, I weigh every can prior to start and they are always 12 Ozs and an empty can weighs between 4-4.5 Ozs. This can still weighed.7 ozs. Now for the part that made me a dedicated customer, I contacted Houts and let them know of the issue and laid out the steps I took for prep and painting and I received an email the next business day saying it sounded like the can failed and a new can would be sent out. I received it two days later! That kind of service is what everyone wants personal, direct, and no nonsense. I have since finished the rifles and they look amazing. You don't have to be a certified professional to use these products, all you have to do is follow directions and you will end up with a professional result.
Two part kit & Shake / Spray Clear (4/5) Mar 6, 2017 Gene Diehl Peoria Ar US
  I found these products to be excellent . Both ; the Stainless Steel spray , and the Clear worked very well. My single recommendation to anyone using any of the Dura-Coat products is to have a clean , smooth , properly sanded & prepped surface . Contamination of any kind will destroy your paint job . Sand , clean , clean it again .
The spray cleaner included in the kit was outstanding when used with the scotch-brite pad for final prep . Just give it about five to ten minutes to evaporate before attempting to use paint .
I would have given it five stars if the Stainless Steel had been closer in color to real stainless , than the soft grey color that is almost identical to the color Honda uses to paint their engines on the Goldwing Motorcycle .
I have that color in my paint cabinet ; ( own two G-W's ) and have re-painted the motors . Besides ; I could have saved forty bucks .

Over-all ? A very good product that I would recommend to anyone .
Valentines gun (5/5) Jan 30, 2016 Bradley nelson Oxnard Ca US
  I bought lilac purple and black "just paint" for my finances gun did very nice rose tiger stripe pattern that went together nicely very happy.
The pain overall came out great very easy to use and so nice came with second nozzle for later.

I paint stuff all the time and eays of use of this definitely make me put again
Very impressed (5/5) Jul 15, 2017 Reid Cumming GA US
  I used the Durablue for a o/u barrel and it came out great. I would suggest that it takes two cans.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6