Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
This is where to start. (5/5) Jan 5, 2013 Joshua Ciesieslki Riverton WY US
  I was worried about how I could apply a firearm finish like Duracoat with good results. Tried blueing years ago on my first .22 pistol with awful results. The Shake N Spray Kit seemed easy but was hard for me to believe I could have a decent finish for $70 (including matte clear & shipping). Met a man in the field where I work & saw the Duracoat finish on his AR that he applied himself. The finish looked factory applied, & due to his young age (a lot younger than me), I figured if he could do it, so could I. Needless to say, I have ordered over 5 Shake N Spray Kits to date. And that finished 3, 1911 pistols (one was for a fellow employee); 2 AR's & 1 AR on the way (including their magazines, sights, etc). The kit comes with degreaser, scouring pad, resin, hardner & sprayer. The sprayer applies the Duracoat with a fine sort of texture that makes the finish look interesting without looking "bumpy". For a smoother finish, one would have to buy Duracoat in individual bottles & apply with a high quallity airbrush that Houts Enterprises sell on their website. But for an excellent, easy & durable finsh without having to purchase extra supplies to prep the firearm, Houts Enterprises Shake N Spray Kit is where to start.

Garryowen, Wind In Your Sails, Into The Wild Blue Yonder & Semper Fi
COL (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Charles McCormick Red House WV US
  Very easy to use, quick and accurate. It makes applying the product very simple.
Marlin 336 barrel (4/5) May 6, 2014 Rob Apfel Green Bay wi US
  I prepped to gun the way they told me and I had a disaster when the product fisheyed on part of the receiver and spots on the barrel. I wiped the product down as recommended and it still fisheyed. when it dried over night I sanded it off in the morning and re shot the parts. it now looks ok except for some dust that somehow got into it. my fault but a learning lesson. this is a god product if you understand that preparation is key!! do not cut corners and try to cut out steps. do exactly like the directions say and in a clean environment ad it will turn out great.
Tremendous results! (5/5) Feb 17, 2014 Evan Milwaukee WI US
  Used this DuraCoat product to color code the baseplates on some ASC 6.8 SPC stainless steel mags to visually differentiate them from my .223 mags.

All I can say is WOW! The Shake N Spray kit is very easy to use, and the results are simply outstanding. I highly recommend this product.
Very good (5/5) Feb 15, 2014 Blong Y Wausau Wi US
  The spray kit was easy to use and the shipping time was outstanding. I received my order faster than expected which was exciting. I ordered two kits and my first kit came in leaking, the bottle spilled a bit during shipping, but still had enough paint to finish the job, I did order a second kit a few days later because I wanted to sand down my mistakes and paint over. My project turned out very well and I am pleased.
Shake N Spray (5/5) Oct 11, 2014 Jay Olsen Redmond Wa US
  I bought the Shake N Spray kit to coat a new barrel on a 700 Rem. My options were to blue, parkerize, or match the receiver with a product like DuraCoat.
I'd never done any finish work before and was admittedly a little apprehensive.
The directions seemed too simple, but within a half hour, I had a perfect flat black match to my receiver and a rifle that looked new. This product is awesome!
I'm hooked!
Awesome Quick Cover (5/5) Apr 5, 2014 Delroy Evosevich Richland Wa US
  I used OD green to paint my Magpul Pmags. Covered in 3 thin coats. I was concerned that this would add to the thickness of the magazine and make it hard to insert or make it stick and not drop free from the magazine well. No such problem. Even with three coats the magazines slide in and drop out freely. This coating is extremely durable. After letting it cure for the recommended 30 days I have ran these magazines numerous times and not one scratch, scuff or chip. A word of caution. Because this is a resin and not a spray paint, the first coat is almost transparent. This may lead you to want to spray on a thicker coat. Do not spray a thicker coat. This will cause drips and runs. Trust the instructions and wait 5 minutes between coats. By the time you are finished with 3 or 4 lite coats it will be a solid color. I also recommend purchasing the primer if you are spraying a light base color over black or dark firearms or accessories, or your light color may turn out darker than you would like. I would recommend this product for anyone who wants a durable almost indestructible finish to firearms and accessories. Or just about anything you want to change the color of that needs to be durable. Tools, automotive parts, knives, electronics covers, just about anything you can think of to paint.
Goddess Purple Shake N Spray (5/5) Mar 25, 2014 M Page Ellensburg WA US
  My boyfriend Duracoated my LCP .380 over a year ago and I love it. It turned out perfectly and a year later it still looks great and hadn't chipped or scratched a bit. Way cheaper and better than having it done professionally. I am going to buy another kit for my 30-06 so that it will match my pistol.
Awesome product! (5/5) Feb 13, 2014 Dan Parrott Colville WA US
  Super easy to use and turned out fantastic! I would defenitly recommend this product to anyone wanting an easy route to get a great finish. Just degrease, do a little sanding or sand blasting, tape off what you want to protect, spray, and let it dry. The results, top notch professional looking finish that will never rust and will stand up to just about anything you throw at it. Thanks for such a great product!
Blue Titanium (5/5) Oct 19, 2013 Paul S. Tacama Wa US
  Easy to use and makes your firarm look new. Just finished a 1949 Marlin 336.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21