Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Great for one project (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Matthew Omaha Ne US
  This is great for one project. Follow the instruction to the letter, but wait 10 minutes in between coats and wait 48 hours before you put it back together. Hold the can upright to avoid paint spurting out the air hole in the jar. I lays nicely in the engravings and protects very, very well. I used the matte black DuraCoat and it matched my matte black scope from Bushnell exactly.
Great Stuff (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Craig Wilson Breckenridge Mi US
  I bought two of these kits to start with. I had two Benelli Nova shotguns get damaged by smoke in a fire at my house. The metal and composite finish looked ruined. A gun Smith said they were totaled as far as value. A couple of friends and I broke the guns down and thoroughly cleaned them. Then we wiped the surfaces down with the surface cleaner that came with the kit. Then we carefully sprayed the Dura coat finish on the disassembled guns. After the drying and curing period I reassembled the guns. The looked brand new. My friends thought I had bought new ones. I have since ordered more Dura Coat Shake N Spray kits. My buddies and I plan to bring a couple old marsh warriors back to life. I plan to try it on some other metal outdoor gear that has rusted, and needs refinishing. By the way 1 kit refinished 2 complete (composite stocks and barrels) shotguns. So you might want to have a couple projects lined up. Even if you don't the price makes it very worth while. The gun smith I use charges $125.00 to Dura Coat a firearm. So the cost of the kit is well worth it.
Great stuff! (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Big hoss Turlock CA US
  I did two of my guns with one gloss black spray kit and both turned out beautiful! Super easy to use and with a 24hr drying time my guns were back together and at the range the next day. I'm going to buy more colors and really get custom on my next project!
shakenspray (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 todd oewns montgomery al US
  Duracoat is an excellent product. Descriptions are correct. Durable, scratch resistant, chemical and cleaner resistant. Shake and spray kit, my opinion, 66 % chance the spray part will not work correctly. I bought and used my first kit and it was flawless. The next two spray kits, did not function correctly. I suggest using an airbrush. Yes you will have a little more money into your first project, but worth the hassle of a poor shake and spray backyard job.
Easy (4/5) Dec 13, 2012 Mark Smith Pawleys Island SC US
  Very easy to use and apply, just follow the instructions. Durable finish, I have a few scratches but its been a hard season with a ton of activity. The only criticism I have is that the color I thought I was getting is not as dark as it looks on the computer screen. I would love to have the ability to get actual color samples to compare.
JEA! (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Rich M. Fl US
  I bought this kit, the ultra flat tactical od green kit. once the setup is done by mixing the paint and hardener this is super simple just point and spray just like a can of spray paint and then you're done. the only downtime to any kind of duracoat is the curing period of 30 days, it drys in 24 hours but for the paint to bond with the metal it takes 30 days. if you just painted you gun, you know you'll want to go and shoot it lol.
Gun Blue on a Winchester (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 Daniel Kinard Bradenton FL US
  I got the Shake N' Spray kit in the mail and read the instructions and it seemed simple enough. I watched the videos on Youtube from Houts and it seemed even simpler. Once I started shaking the color up I noticed it seemed a bit off. I figured it would cure darker. I have a navy blue shotgun now. The blue you see on guns looks black in the day time and my gun is blue at night. The application was extremely easy however. Just as simple as the instructions and videos suggest. Having said that, the pressurized can didn't seal to the glass jar very well. I got a blue hand out of the process as well. All in all, a good product. Just needs to have the color fixed and better seal on the pressure canister.

Thanks
Awesome Product (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jeff F New Carlisle OH US
  Simple easy to use GREAT FINISH I have DURACOATED three of my Shotguns and they are Awesome.
Jeff Stone (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jeff Stone Sealy Te US
  The only issue i have with this product is that it sometimes does not spray evenly. It comes out "splotchy".
Other than that its a great product!
Painting air guns (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 mike montes 409 archer st fr US
  I have used dura coat three times all were different colors. I find them all very easy to use. The paint it self is very tuff and durable, with a wide choice of colors anyone should be able to find a color they need. My first paint job on a old air gun i rebuilt over a year ago is still looking fine with no chips or scatches at all. Of course my only gripe is the price of the kits, like anything i buy i would like to pay less who wouldn't. I will use it again for sure.
Mike

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21