Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
not bulletproof (3/5) Mar 10, 2013 John Dye Holland MI US
  I was kind of hoping for a finish that would stick without scratching. But after 4 weeks of curing when it came time to rivet and assemble my AK47 and AMD65 The finish easily scratched, chipped and came right off when I installed rivets and safety selector. The guns are looking thoroughly battle beaten even though they haven't had a round put through them. It appears both of my guns will need refinishing now.
owner (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Millburg Equipment Benton Harbor Mi LC
  I finaly got to use this product
It was easer than I had thought every thing went well all my guys thoutht it was the greatest job thay had ever seen
so I guess it was good
I think it was good but i see things that I did not paint well enouf My fault not yours
realy liked the stuff I plan on doing some more sometime dont know when Thanks Bruce
great coating (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jimbosskow Dearborn Mi US
  I used dura-coat diamond plate silver with semi gloss finish on two of my guns. A Remington 507 and a Mosin-Nagant 9130.
I got my own quality air brush... I prepared the surfaces according to their manual. The results are excellent. I wish I could show you guys pics. My friends and even random people at the range keep asking me where did I get this paint job?!? Highly recommended.
I had them dry and cure for 30 days. Since I put thru 500 rounds on the Remington 597 and 300 rounds on the Mosin. The paint holds strong... The staff was helpful, answered all my questions within hours.
Remember two things: use quality air brush and prep the surface. You will be happy with the results.
Thank you so much for all the help.
shake and spray (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 David Berger New Boston mi
  The dura coat layed well and really made for a nice fi ish o. The weapon. I really liked using it as opposed to other finishes i have used.

Only gripe i had was with the actual sprayer itself paint container would not seal around sprayer attachment point so i got paint everywhere. But the finish itself was awesome. My shot gun has never looked better.o
shake and spray (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 David Berger New Boston mi
  The dura coat layed well and really made for a nice fi ish o. The weapon. I really liked using it as opposed to other finishes i have used.

Only gripe i had was with the actual sprayer itself paint container would not seal around sprayer attachment point so i got paint everywhere. But the finish itself was awesome. My shot gun has never looked better.o
Great Stuff (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Craig Wilson Breckenridge Mi US
  I bought two of these kits to start with. I had two Benelli Nova shotguns get damaged by smoke in a fire at my house. The metal and composite finish looked ruined. A gun Smith said they were totaled as far as value. A couple of friends and I broke the guns down and thoroughly cleaned them. Then we wiped the surfaces down with the surface cleaner that came with the kit. Then we carefully sprayed the Dura coat finish on the disassembled guns. After the drying and curing period I reassembled the guns. The looked brand new. My friends thought I had bought new ones. I have since ordered more Dura Coat Shake N Spray kits. My buddies and I plan to bring a couple old marsh warriors back to life. I plan to try it on some other metal outdoor gear that has rusted, and needs refinishing. By the way 1 kit refinished 2 complete (composite stocks and barrels) shotguns. So you might want to have a couple projects lined up. Even if you don't the price makes it very worth while. The gun smith I use charges $125.00 to Dura Coat a firearm. So the cost of the kit is well worth it.
Best, easy to use kit on the market!!! (5/5) Jan 5, 2014 Charlie Rosenthal Big Timber Mo US
  Easy to use, and with a little careful prep, great results. Remember, a clean, well prepped rifle is key to success.
Best DIY gun coating (5/5) Oct 10, 2015 Liston Madison MS US
  Overall I'm pleased with the way this product ended up on my shotgun. I used the Rem 870 black and it is a great match and is a nice matte black. One can was enough for one shotgun and I only sprayed the barrel and receiver/mag tube. One word of advice is to be very careful when starting to spray and I would suggest a distance of about 2 feet from your firearm. I started too close and got a couple of runs. Multiple VERY light coats is absolutely necessary. Take your time and try to just "powder" your gun instead of spray it. You will come out very happy but don't expect to get multiple uses out of one can for long guns.
Xyz_racer (5/5) Apr 12, 2014 xyz racer shelby nc US
  I duracoated the stainless slide on my Kahr CM9 and it came out great. If you can use spray paint, you can use the shake N spray duracoat kit. The hardest thing about the process was to dissamble the slide... no joke! I will absolutely purchase another shake n spray kit for my next project.
owner Fredell Precision (5/5) Feb 8, 2014 Stephen W Fredell Vale NC US
  Easy to use, and a great product, applicator is messy.
Final results are fantastic.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21