Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Excellent Product (5/5) Apr 5, 2016 Clive Pace Henderson NV US
  It is truly pleasing to come across a company that not only makes the product in USA, but also delivers exactly what it says in the promotional and instruction material.
As a first time user, I was both excited and terrified to start - According to the web site, once you let Duracoat harden, it is next to impossible to remove, so One needs be sure to get it right the first time.
Following instructions exactly (but reducing amounts so as to get a somewhat matte finish and not to use it all up on just one weapon), this was a breeze and came out exactly as desired. I couldn't be happier!
I did stray a tad in trying to get the masking 'glue' off and used alcohol rather than mineral spirits (of which I had none) and discovered that alcohol will mar the finish even fourteen hours after application. Luckily, I tried this on an area which would be covered by the grips, so it was of little consequence (and I buffed that up a couple of days later anyway). Stick with the instructions... Use mineral spirits!
Not surprisingly, once assembled, I placed the weapon in a lovely cushioned container and will not play with it until full cure time has elapsed (the instructions tell me that it takes 30 days to fully cure... I am a believer in their instructions! :-)
All in all, I can only praise the product, the instructions and the result (not to mention that it was delivered super-quick too).
Many thanks to all those that work so hard bringing this to market - A job well done and a superb product.
Thanks again.
Regards,
Clive Pace
My firearm looks new (5/5) Jul 30, 2013 Dave G. Las Vegas NV US
  I used the Tactical Ultra Flat Black to refinish an old 9mm that worked well but looked a bit rough. I stripped the finish with a wire wheel brush on my drill, then used some 600 grit wet/dry sandpaper to dry sand it to a smooth finish. I used the stripper/degreaser to clean the parts to be finished and then sprayed 2 nice even coats on them with 20 minutes in between coats. The finished product looks and feels great. Excellent product for the cost and not difficult if you are capable of disassembling and reassembling your firearm and spray painting.
Shake & Spray (5/5) May 19, 2014 David Carpentier Averill Park NY US
  Product very easy to use. Just finished a shotgun for my wife and it is in the "curing" stage right now. Looks good. I'll probably redo a ruger handgun next and use this product again.
Remy 700 (4/5) Aug 3, 2013 Nate VanHart Conklin NY US
  I ordered Magpul Flat Dark Earth and Wilderness Mirage Tan. Both items arrived on time and near to perfect working order. The one issue I had was with the Preval spray can. I followed the instructions to a tee, and after making several passes the can continued to spray it's cold mist-- minus the paint. It made me quite nervous for a minute or two, and then the paint propelled clean and easy and kept in perfect working order through to its expiration. I had enough in one jar with the FDE to do what I needed to do on both my AK-47 and Remington 700 22-250. Overall, it was a pleasurable experience, and the end result of the product looks positively professional, not to mention tough as nails when exercised in field operations. I'm anticipating the purchase of another weapon just so I can try another Duracoat set. Be careful; it's addicting.
shake and spray (5/5) Sep 5, 2015 Gary BOOHER EATON Oh US
  Very easy to use and leaves a wonderful finish and my firearms, thanks!!!
Stealth Grey 1911 (5/5) Nov 11, 2013 Greg Watts Mason Oh US
  This product works as advertised and looks great on my 1911. Proper preparation and thin even coats are the formula for success! Take your time cleaning, taping off, and degreasing and spray about 10-12 inches away and you will be rewarded with a nice finish and protectant. I used a little bit of duracoats thinning agent and the spray was very easy to layer on my handgun.
Awesome Product (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jeff F New Carlisle OH US
  Simple easy to use GREAT FINISH I have DURACOATED three of my Shotguns and they are Awesome.
Shake and spray (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 David mccain Trenton Oh US
  My first time using your product was the goddess purple for my daughters ar build. I tested it on a scrap piece to see how good it was gonna hold up, and to practice. I was impressed with your product. I dropped it a few time to test it and i also took various tools to it to scratch it. It held up better than I could have imagined. Enough that I will never worry about it failing me. In fact I will be ordering some desert tan soon for a new build of my own. Thanks for a great product.
Duracoat works! (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Daniel Lambert Columbus OH US
  When I decided to throw mega bucks at my 20-year old AR to make it into a credible long-range rifle, I bought a Duracoat kit in matte black. Using it is a lot like painting a car: you have prep and you have paint. ... and the end result reflects the prep. I spent a total of about 5 hours masking and spraying and unmasking and spraying and I got two teeny and insignificant runs. Those were my fault; I got them because it was closing in on midnight and I wanted to go to bed!

I wasn't in a hurry to reassemble the rifle, but did within a few days. I have tried to use a fingernail to scratch the finish and it can't be done. Since I'm not preforming durability tests, I hesitate to use a nail or rock or some-such, but I'm confident in the durability of the finish. I really liked the result I got and would assuredly buy another kit. Note that masking is critical as this paint has discernable thickness. Don't spray it into your mag well or into pin holes and such; you will not be pleased. I got a slight bit of overspray in the leading edge of my mag well, and I noticed the added material when I inserted a magazine.

BTW, the small amount of catalyzed Duracoat that I had left in the bottle hardened, and rubberized. Having familiarity with epoxy paints such as DuPont's Imron, it is very similar. The result is kinda like a soft hockey puck. I know the durability of Imron and I'm quite confident the Duracoat is at least that good. I'm happy I tried this stuff out!
Glock31 (5/5) May 14, 2013 Fireman442000 OK US
  I used the shake and spray dark earth kit on my Glock31 frame and it Rocks!!. I was happy to see it looks like it came from Glock that color.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21