Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Goddess Purple Shake N Spray (5/5) Mar 25, 2014 M Page Ellensburg WA US
  My boyfriend Duracoated my LCP .380 over a year ago and I love it. It turned out perfectly and a year later it still looks great and hadn't chipped or scratched a bit. Way cheaper and better than having it done professionally. I am going to buy another kit for my 30-06 so that it will match my pistol.
Police Officer (5/5) Mar 31, 2014 Dan St. John In US
  First time user, very easy to use and apply. I made a mistake because of bad lighting and got a run in the paint, My fault. I called customer service and they advised me the best way to correct, very friendly people. I will buy again, this stuff has a very strong odor so make sure you wear a mask and paint in a well ventilated area.
Awesome Quick Cover (5/5) Apr 5, 2014 Delroy Evosevich Richland Wa US
  I used OD green to paint my Magpul Pmags. Covered in 3 thin coats. I was concerned that this would add to the thickness of the magazine and make it hard to insert or make it stick and not drop free from the magazine well. No such problem. Even with three coats the magazines slide in and drop out freely. This coating is extremely durable. After letting it cure for the recommended 30 days I have ran these magazines numerous times and not one scratch, scuff or chip. A word of caution. Because this is a resin and not a spray paint, the first coat is almost transparent. This may lead you to want to spray on a thicker coat. Do not spray a thicker coat. This will cause drips and runs. Trust the instructions and wait 5 minutes between coats. By the time you are finished with 3 or 4 lite coats it will be a solid color. I also recommend purchasing the primer if you are spraying a light base color over black or dark firearms or accessories, or your light color may turn out darker than you would like. I would recommend this product for anyone who wants a durable almost indestructible finish to firearms and accessories. Or just about anything you want to change the color of that needs to be durable. Tools, automotive parts, knives, electronics covers, just about anything you can think of to paint.
Xyz_racer (5/5) Apr 12, 2014 xyz racer shelby nc US
  I duracoated the stainless slide on my Kahr CM9 and it came out great. If you can use spray paint, you can use the shake N spray duracoat kit. The hardest thing about the process was to dissamble the slide... no joke! I will absolutely purchase another shake n spray kit for my next project.
Great (5/5) Apr 13, 2014 Raymond Sharrer Morenci Az US
  Just got done finishing a Sig 522 in Ergo pink for my daughter's 13th b-day. It came out great. First time trying your products, and I will be ordering more. Thank you.
Super Coating (5/5) Apr 16, 2014 Rocky Brookins Katy Te US
  I applied Duracoat to a 1979 vintage 870 Remington shotgun. It didn't have anything on it but rust. After a good cleaning and sanding I used the Duracoat Rem 870 Black. It was really easy to apply and I went slow and used 4 coats to cover it. The finished product made the shotgun look new again. It is still curing, but i can't wait to go out and shoot it. Thanks for a great product.
Great! (5/5) Apr 25, 2014 Richard Carrier Rome Ne US
  Very easy to use kit. I painted a Mosin-Nagant Mod91/30 that had a terrable finish, some blued and some touched up with paint! Prep was very easy and paint went on without a problem. The painted finish looks great and durable. Nobody can believe my gun was built in 1942 now. I plan on another project using DuraCoat Firearm Finishes soon.
WORKS GOOD (5/5) Apr 26, 2014 Steve Pauley Milton GA US
  This product works very good and allows the home gun enthusiast to finish their guns themselves without paying 3 to 4 times the cost of the kit to a gunsmith or finisher. I have used this on gun metal and on stocks, wood, plastic or composite and it works well on everything I have tried it on.

Preparation is key so spend the time preparing for the painting and the drying.

Also you can mix paints to get a particular color you want.

I have done about 10 guns and some points of advise are:

1) Shake the paint well, mix it good.
2) Be sure to place the target high enough so you can get around all sides with the sprayer held upright, do not tilt the sprayer bottle.
3) Do not touch the item after spraying for 24 hours, resist the urge to play with it.
4) The fumes are strong so dry it in a well ventilated space preferably not in the house.
5) Keep a small amount back so that if you notice areas you missed or imperfections you have the paint left to correct them. I have used paint 12 to 14 hours in the bottle after initial painting and it was good.
Handyman (5/5) May 1, 2014 doc Louisville KY US
  I ordered my shake and spray kit and after stripping a beater 1911 down to frame and de-greasing taping it off, I applied the coating...It didn't look like the same pistol...
RLB (5/5) May 3, 2014 Robert L. Banegas Campo CA US
  1st can worked great! had problem with the second can, called customer service and got a replacement.
would recommend to anyone.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21