Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
This is where to start. (5/5) Jan 5, 2013 Joshua Ciesieslki Riverton WY US
  I was worried about how I could apply a firearm finish like Duracoat with good results. Tried blueing years ago on my first .22 pistol with awful results. The Shake N Spray Kit seemed easy but was hard for me to believe I could have a decent finish for $70 (including matte clear & shipping). Met a man in the field where I work & saw the Duracoat finish on his AR that he applied himself. The finish looked factory applied, & due to his young age (a lot younger than me), I figured if he could do it, so could I. Needless to say, I have ordered over 5 Shake N Spray Kits to date. And that finished 3, 1911 pistols (one was for a fellow employee); 2 AR's & 1 AR on the way (including their magazines, sights, etc). The kit comes with degreaser, scouring pad, resin, hardner & sprayer. The sprayer applies the Duracoat with a fine sort of texture that makes the finish look interesting without looking "bumpy". For a smoother finish, one would have to buy Duracoat in individual bottles & apply with a high quallity airbrush that Houts Enterprises sell on their website. But for an excellent, easy & durable finsh without having to purchase extra supplies to prep the firearm, Houts Enterprises Shake N Spray Kit is where to start.

Garryowen, Wind In Your Sails, Into The Wild Blue Yonder & Semper Fi
Shake N Spray (5/5) Jun 20, 2014 Tom Ferguson Riverview Fl US
  Just finished using the Shake N Spray kit in Magpul FDE on my AR-15. Worked great. I live in Florida so I used retarder because of the humidity and flattner because I didn't want any gloss. It came out perfect. I will do another!
Awesome product! (5/5) Mar 3, 2013 Joe Abene Rockford Il US
  This product is awesome! I wasn't sure how well the sprayer was gonna work,This was my first time trying anything like this and was kinda nervous I'd mess my firearm up. This product worked great! Super easy to use and my gun looks great! Got in all the nooks and cranies with no runs! Will definitely be buying more! I'd recommend this for sure! Can't beat the price and result! Thanks Hout/Duracoat!
Great! (5/5) Apr 25, 2014 Richard Carrier Rome Ne US
  Very easy to use kit. I painted a Mosin-Nagant Mod91/30 that had a terrable finish, some blued and some touched up with paint! Prep was very easy and paint went on without a problem. The painted finish looks great and durable. Nobody can believe my gun was built in 1942 now. I plan on another project using DuraCoat Firearm Finishes soon.
civilian/vet (5/5) Dec 20, 2012 michael birrell roosevelt ut US
  great prouduct and price.
happy flintlock (5/5) Jul 12, 2015 John Bohan Rural Valley Pa US
  I used the plum brown on my t/c flintlock, I love the appearance. The kit was very easy to use.
Mosin Nagant Stock (5/5) Feb 16, 2013 Robert White San Diego CA US
  I bought an old Mosin Nagant M91/30. The wood stock was pretty much not worth stripping and finishing due to dents chips and scratches in the wood. After a lot of searching on the internet, I happened on Duracoat. I studied it for a while and saw some of the great how-to short films about applying your product on you tube. I bought the "Shake and Spray" kit for my wood stock. After filling all of the pits, scratches and holes, I applied the Duracoat finish to the wood stock. They were right, this product is not only easy to use but a 60 year old novice like me accomplished a near professional job on my gun stock. There were only two small runs in the finish and when the finish cured, you could not tell that they were there at all. Now my Mosin Nagant looks like a nice hunting gun. Thanks Duracoat, I may even decide to add other colors to the gun now.
Rifle barrel (4/5) Jul 30, 2016 Joe Scottsdale US
  Kit was good. Color was great(Norwegian dark green). Easy to use and spray pattern fine. Has produced an obvious durable coating. Concerns with the vent and not tipping past 45 degrees. This is real cause coating comes out of it like a volcano if you disregard. High potential to ruin a project. If you don't tip you're fine
GREG (5/5) Jan 19, 2013 Greg Seaford VA VA US
  Works great, I repainted my shotgun receiver. I sprayed in my garage and hung it up over my kerosene heater which baked it on really well. seems tough and looks great.



Jeff Stone (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jeff Stone Sealy Te US
  The only issue i have with this product is that it sometimes does not spray evenly. It comes out "splotchy".
Other than that its a great product!

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21