Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Best DIY gun coating (5/5) Oct 10, 2015 Liston Madison MS US
  Overall I'm pleased with the way this product ended up on my shotgun. I used the Rem 870 black and it is a great match and is a nice matte black. One can was enough for one shotgun and I only sprayed the barrel and receiver/mag tube. One word of advice is to be very careful when starting to spray and I would suggest a distance of about 2 feet from your firearm. I started too close and got a couple of runs. Multiple VERY light coats is absolutely necessary. Take your time and try to just "powder" your gun instead of spray it. You will come out very happy but don't expect to get multiple uses out of one can for long guns.
Does a Good Job (5/5) Nov 15, 2015 Ralph Etheridge Mobile AL US
  I used the two part mix-it and spray it kit a few years ago with very good results, sprayed 2 pistols and 1 rifle with it. Easy to use but required mixing, which really wasn't much hassle, but was very pleased with the extent of coverage, ease of use, and end result. So - I tried the aerosol can mix - the one where you push down the button, shake and spray. This mix was a little thinner than the previous mix, and I found I had to be very careful to prevent runs. The first coat bubbled a LOT, causing me to have to sand it lightly before the second coat. Overall, it did a good final job, but it didn't cover as much as the previous 2 part kit did. It said give the gun 3 coats, and I only sprayed one rifle, and was running out of paint when I finished the second coat. Recommend you use the two part mix-it and spray it kit if you want to be assured of having enough to completely finish the firearm. Bottom line: Gives a good final finish even to an old junker, and I would recommend it again, but the two part mix-it and spray it kit is the best buy for the money.
Good kit (4/5) Nov 22, 2015 Anonymous
  The kit could not be more simple to use. It was fun to do, I started with three pistol frames, once finished I realized how much Duracoat was left over I grabbed a rifle. When that was finished I still had enough to do another rifle stock, so total three pistol frames and two rifle stocks all from one kit. I was impressed with how much Duracoat comes in the kit to be able to refinish several guns. The only compliant I have is the color I chose wasn't as flat as I wanted, it has a slight glossy finish to it.
First time using product (5/5) Nov 29, 2015 Keith Tampa FL US
  It went on without any problem. I had very little experience with spray on finish. Best suggestion I can give is to spray a thin coat at first to prevent running, let dry a bit and add a bit to complete the coverage.

After baking, the finish is amazing. Hard, smooth and very professional in appearance. Looks like it came from the factory! I am totally satisfied with this and look forward to using it again.
Great Product (4/5) Dec 19, 2015 Martin Mojarro Castaic Ca US
  Easy to use but the only complaint is the sprayer did sputter a little bit. Just waiting to test the durability.
AR fanatic (5/5) Jan 23, 2016 jon wright garland Te US
  easy to use,easy directions,matched my AR furniture perfectly.love the site and the product!!!!
mr john (5/5) Feb 20, 2016 john balliet augres mi US
  I really love duracoat, the shake and spray kit is so easy to use. the coating dries fast and it remains a hard and durable and lasts forever.i like the tactical flat colors work great with military rifles.
Can in a Can (5/5) Mar 13, 2016 Darren Petro East Alton Il US
  Great stuff. I've done three project now, works great and I believe much better than using air brush. The Ultra Flat is fantastic in black and olive drab. Holds perfectly when subject to heat and cleaning agents. A strong recommend.
Shake N Spray (5/5) Mar 26, 2016 Lionel Hatt Killeen TX US
  I went by the instructions and it came out perfect and I am no pro at all. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Excellent Product (5/5) Apr 5, 2016 Clive Pace Henderson NV US
  It is truly pleasing to come across a company that not only makes the product in USA, but also delivers exactly what it says in the promotional and instruction material.
As a first time user, I was both excited and terrified to start - According to the web site, once you let Duracoat harden, it is next to impossible to remove, so One needs be sure to get it right the first time.
Following instructions exactly (but reducing amounts so as to get a somewhat matte finish and not to use it all up on just one weapon), this was a breeze and came out exactly as desired. I couldn't be happier!
I did stray a tad in trying to get the masking 'glue' off and used alcohol rather than mineral spirits (of which I had none) and discovered that alcohol will mar the finish even fourteen hours after application. Luckily, I tried this on an area which would be covered by the grips, so it was of little consequence (and I buffed that up a couple of days later anyway). Stick with the instructions... Use mineral spirits!
Not surprisingly, once assembled, I placed the weapon in a lovely cushioned container and will not play with it until full cure time has elapsed (the instructions tell me that it takes 30 days to fully cure... I am a believer in their instructions! :-)
All in all, I can only praise the product, the instructions and the result (not to mention that it was delivered super-quick too).
Many thanks to all those that work so hard bringing this to market - A job well done and a superb product.
Thanks again.
Regards,
Clive Pace

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21