Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
COL (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Charles McCormick Red House WV US
  Very easy to use, quick and accurate. It makes applying the product very simple.
Collector, Amateur Refinisher (5/5) Dec 14, 2012 H.Gonzalez Miami Fl US
  Your product was easy to use. Preparation is the key4oz kit easily does 2 rifles. Wear is good paint lays flat with a satin sheen.
Did a K31 and M48 for all weather protection with no shine Will buy again.
Dark blue (5/5) Dec 28, 2012 Anonymous
  Extreme fast service.definetly will keep buying.keep up the good work.
Dcrazeddog (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Dcrazeddog Ca US
  Great and easy to use. The finished product (My Saiga 12) came out great. I highly recommend using gloves when mixing and spraying. Also, don't mix the paint with the sprayer lid on. I had the black hand of death for a week.
Do-it-yourself shakeNspray (4/5) Dec 15, 2012 T Brown Ashton Ma US
  For our purposes, the epoxy mix and spray kit was not quite durable enough. The color was good, the coating looked just fine, except that it chipped a teeny bit. So we decided to go back to using powder coating.
Does a Good Job (5/5) Nov 15, 2015 Ralph Etheridge Mobile AL US
  I used the two part mix-it and spray it kit a few years ago with very good results, sprayed 2 pistols and 1 rifle with it. Easy to use but required mixing, which really wasn't much hassle, but was very pleased with the extent of coverage, ease of use, and end result. So - I tried the aerosol can mix - the one where you push down the button, shake and spray. This mix was a little thinner than the previous mix, and I found I had to be very careful to prevent runs. The first coat bubbled a LOT, causing me to have to sand it lightly before the second coat. Overall, it did a good final job, but it didn't cover as much as the previous 2 part kit did. It said give the gun 3 coats, and I only sprayed one rifle, and was running out of paint when I finished the second coat. Recommend you use the two part mix-it and spray it kit if you want to be assured of having enough to completely finish the firearm. Bottom line: Gives a good final finish even to an old junker, and I would recommend it again, but the two part mix-it and spray it kit is the best buy for the money.
Durabake, best thing since sliced bread (5/5) Jan 19, 2013 S Jacobs Port orange Fl US
  First off let me say, i tried the durabake gloss black finish on a mossberg 12 barrel. Ive done a lot of porting and ramping and polishing in the past but Ive never tried any refinishing, not even blueing. Originally i thought i had ordered the spray can but i had orderd the bottle that requires an airbrush, my mistake no big deal. airbrush at harbor freight 9.99 ran it off my shop compressor, problem solved.
I was gettin a bit concerned at first as ive never airbrushed anything. i degreased the barrel, and scuffed it with a steel wool pad then degreased it again. took a whole 10 mins. now the fun part. i played with the airbrush for a minute setting the spray how i thought it should be and sprayed the barrel. i had some hooks already set up in the oven hanging from the top rack.i used a rod through the barrel extending out each end which sat in the two hooks so nothing actually touched the barrel. Finally, 20 mins later the finished result, absolutly beautiful, no blemishes or anything, i love this stuff. the barrel wasnt even cooled yet and im digging in my closet looking to see which other guns i want to refinish next. after thinking about the airbrush some, Im glad i made the mistake of not getting the spray can, i dont know if the spray cans are like spray paint but i always seem to get a run with spray cans, maybe the durabake stuff is different but i know the airbrush works great with durabake. Ive got a pair of 1911s set out im going to two tone next and Im thinking about the camo stuff for my styre hs 50 bmg if i can figure out a oven big enough.
Duracoat areosol paint (5/5) Oct 10, 2015 Steven Paul Long Beach CA US
  I used the matte black finish and followed the video from the manufacturer. My parts and magazines turn out great. Great finish the right color, nothing but great things to say about the product. Very easy to use. Keep the can well shaken and have all your parts ready to go.
Duracoat works! (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Daniel Lambert Columbus OH US
  When I decided to throw mega bucks at my 20-year old AR to make it into a credible long-range rifle, I bought a Duracoat kit in matte black. Using it is a lot like painting a car: you have prep and you have paint. ... and the end result reflects the prep. I spent a total of about 5 hours masking and spraying and unmasking and spraying and I got two teeny and insignificant runs. Those were my fault; I got them because it was closing in on midnight and I wanted to go to bed!

I wasn't in a hurry to reassemble the rifle, but did within a few days. I have tried to use a fingernail to scratch the finish and it can't be done. Since I'm not preforming durability tests, I hesitate to use a nail or rock or some-such, but I'm confident in the durability of the finish. I really liked the result I got and would assuredly buy another kit. Note that masking is critical as this paint has discernable thickness. Don't spray it into your mag well or into pin holes and such; you will not be pleased. I got a slight bit of overspray in the leading edge of my mag well, and I noticed the added material when I inserted a magazine.

BTW, the small amount of catalyzed Duracoat that I had left in the bottle hardened, and rubberized. Having familiarity with epoxy paints such as DuPont's Imron, it is very similar. The result is kinda like a soft hockey puck. I know the durability of Imron and I'm quite confident the Duracoat is at least that good. I'm happy I tried this stuff out!
Duracoat, Black Oxide (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Charles Chapman Alpine CA US
  This system was exactly what I needed for my Saiga conversion. In fact the color, black oxide, was almost a perfect match for the black pre-existing on my Saiga. There was enough paint to coat several firearms. Unfortunately I mixed it all in one batch and had no plans for extra. The spray system worked flawlessly and I now have a very well coated weapon.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21