Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Durabake, best thing since sliced bread (5/5) Jan 19, 2013 S Jacobs Port orange Fl US
  First off let me say, i tried the durabake gloss black finish on a mossberg 12 barrel. Ive done a lot of porting and ramping and polishing in the past but Ive never tried any refinishing, not even blueing. Originally i thought i had ordered the spray can but i had orderd the bottle that requires an airbrush, my mistake no big deal. airbrush at harbor freight 9.99 ran it off my shop compressor, problem solved.
I was gettin a bit concerned at first as ive never airbrushed anything. i degreased the barrel, and scuffed it with a steel wool pad then degreased it again. took a whole 10 mins. now the fun part. i played with the airbrush for a minute setting the spray how i thought it should be and sprayed the barrel. i had some hooks already set up in the oven hanging from the top rack.i used a rod through the barrel extending out each end which sat in the two hooks so nothing actually touched the barrel. Finally, 20 mins later the finished result, absolutly beautiful, no blemishes or anything, i love this stuff. the barrel wasnt even cooled yet and im digging in my closet looking to see which other guns i want to refinish next. after thinking about the airbrush some, Im glad i made the mistake of not getting the spray can, i dont know if the spray cans are like spray paint but i always seem to get a run with spray cans, maybe the durabake stuff is different but i know the airbrush works great with durabake. Ive got a pair of 1911s set out im going to two tone next and Im thinking about the camo stuff for my styre hs 50 bmg if i can figure out a oven big enough.
Friends thought it was blued (5/5) Jan 13, 2013 justin james Ocala Fl US
  worked great, as promised, if you can read you can us this product, like the directions say, try on a piece of paper to determine flow and that let it rip

only thing company could do in my opinion, is offer a small section in the description for the filler to compensate for pitting
Shake n Spray Review (5/5) Dec 17, 2012 Bob Shynski Port Richey FL US
  Recently decided to take the leap and try the kit for an older rifle that was almost 90 yrs old that needed refinieshed. Since in such good shape besides the cracked stock which I fixed and the blueing gone wanted to protect it long term again to keep it in that shape. Cleaned and degreased the firearm and then sandd lightly. The barrel and everything went fine except for the reciever which was my fault as I held the spray to far away. Luckily with some steel wool, a razor and some acetone was able to remove the finish and clean and degreae again and refinish properly.

No issues the second time. The sprayer must be close but not to close, maybe 8inches and eventhough it will look like it will cover the engravings, etc after it dries everything will be fine. Highly recommend as I have done two different firearms now and all the people ask me how I did it and could I do ones for them. Highly recommend if a little patient and are used to spray painting and doing it right. Cannot go wrong.
Great product (5/5) Dec 16, 2012 Bill Florence Niceville Fl US
  Easy to follow instructions and easy to apply. Take your time and follow the instructions as written, and it gives you a fabulous finish. Looks professional, feels high end and refreshes any old tire well loved firearm and makes it a new toy again. Love it!! I will re-order again,just trying to figure out which one gets the next treatment.
Collector, Amateur Refinisher (5/5) Dec 14, 2012 H.Gonzalez Miami Fl US
  Your product was easy to use. Preparation is the key4oz kit easily does 2 rifles. Wear is good paint lays flat with a satin sheen.
Did a K31 and M48 for all weather protection with no shine Will buy again.
Gun Blue on a Winchester (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 Daniel Kinard Bradenton FL US
  I got the Shake N' Spray kit in the mail and read the instructions and it seemed simple enough. I watched the videos on Youtube from Houts and it seemed even simpler. Once I started shaking the color up I noticed it seemed a bit off. I figured it would cure darker. I have a navy blue shotgun now. The blue you see on guns looks black in the day time and my gun is blue at night. The application was extremely easy however. Just as simple as the instructions and videos suggest. Having said that, the pressurized can didn't seal to the glass jar very well. I got a blue hand out of the process as well. All in all, a good product. Just needs to have the color fixed and better seal on the pressure canister.

Thanks
JEA! (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Rich M. Fl US
  I bought this kit, the ultra flat tactical od green kit. once the setup is done by mixing the paint and hardener this is super simple just point and spray just like a can of spray paint and then you're done. the only downtime to any kind of duracoat is the curing period of 30 days, it drys in 24 hours but for the paint to bond with the metal it takes 30 days. if you just painted you gun, you know you'll want to go and shoot it lol.
MOSIN NAGANT RETRO (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 CHARLIE Palm Beach Gardens FL US
  used your product on one of my Mosin Nagant 91/30 rifles.. med. grey color ; came out very nice flat durable finish.
kit was easy to use. had enough for 3-4 coats.. had enough to even do a knife. GREAT PRODUCT
Nolan (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Harry N. Lutz FL US
  Kit is easy to use. Bought a few of the shake and spray kits before I picked up my airbrush. Shipping is fast. Usually between 3 to 5 days after my order I have received my product b
Painting air guns (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 mike montes 409 archer st fr US
  I have used dura coat three times all were different colors. I find them all very easy to use. The paint it self is very tuff and durable, with a wide choice of colors anyone should be able to find a color they need. My first paint job on a old air gun i rebuilt over a year ago is still looking fine with no chips or scatches at all. Of course my only gripe is the price of the kits, like anything i buy i would like to pay less who wouldn't. I will use it again for sure.
Mike

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21