Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
WORKS GOOD (5/5) Apr 26, 2014 Steve Pauley Milton GA US
  This product works very good and allows the home gun enthusiast to finish their guns themselves without paying 3 to 4 times the cost of the kit to a gunsmith or finisher. I have used this on gun metal and on stocks, wood, plastic or composite and it works well on everything I have tried it on.

Preparation is key so spend the time preparing for the painting and the drying.

Also you can mix paints to get a particular color you want.

I have done about 10 guns and some points of advise are:

1) Shake the paint well, mix it good.
2) Be sure to place the target high enough so you can get around all sides with the sprayer held upright, do not tilt the sprayer bottle.
3) Do not touch the item after spraying for 24 hours, resist the urge to play with it.
4) The fumes are strong so dry it in a well ventilated space preferably not in the house.
5) Keep a small amount back so that if you notice areas you missed or imperfections you have the paint left to correct them. I have used paint 12 to 14 hours in the bottle after initial painting and it was good.
shake and spray (5/5) Feb 1, 2014 steve edwards summerville ga US
  great product,easy to use,great finish,will be getting some more of it soon.
Simple, fast and easy (5/5) May 19, 2013 M. Davis Ellijay GA US
  I couldn't have ask for anything more user friendly. Watched the Youtube video and did the project. Great product. Turned a awful looking 5100 Stevens shotgun which had spent most of its days on a seagoing fishing vessel into a fine looking firearm. You wouldn't believe it is the same gun. Thanks
simplicity (4/5) May 18, 2013 Stacy Russell flintstone ga US
  Great product! Very easy for a first time user. I only gave 4 stars because the sprayer didn't apply even coats but other than that it was perfect!
great product, but sprayer has problems (3/5) Jan 8, 2013 P. Tate LaGrange Ga US
  Ordered the duracoat spray kit for a sweet remington 700 build. The first coat went great, but when I went back for a second it looked like splatter paint. My advice is to run thinner through the sprayer after every coat. It plugged up partially in between mine. I love the duracoat finish and it is very hardy, but will buy and use my own gun in the future.
vray1 (3/5) Dec 20, 2012 Thomas V Ray Cartersville Ga US
  I purchased the Dura Coat shake and spray system I followed the instructions religously then when I went to sray the only thing that came out of the preval spayer was splatter what a big let down I could not get a smooth spray pattern I had to wipe the barrel down with acetone degrease and put the paint in my sprayer which worked out real well The dura coat is a very good product but stay away from the preval spayer
.338 WM (4/5) Dec 15, 2012 Ben King Lincolnton GA US
  Use Desert Tan on an old beat up Remington 700 .338 WM. The process was quick and easy, just wish the paint would have come out a little more flat. The gun looked great so I put a new B&C stock on it and traded all for a great looking Sako 7MM.
TINKER2013 (5/5) Apr 6, 2013 LEE R CASON BLACKSHEAR GE GE
  THIS IS A EXCELLENT KIT, I BELIEVE AN IDIOT COULD USE IT. TURNED OUT GREAT, REWORKED 1911 AUTO ORDANANCE...NOT THE CRAPPY KAHR ARMS, BUT THE REAL DEAL. I AM VERY HAPPY, AND WILL BE USING DURA-COAT ON ALL MY FIREARMS.
Mr. BLG (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Barry Gaddis Waleska Ge US
  Excellent product. When you read and fully follow the application instructions correctly, you can attain a superior finish. Do not rush the process. As is so with most events of value in life....the degree of quality you seek will coincide with the degree of preparation you invest.
Chorizo (5/5) Apr 26, 2013 Mitchell A. Jaurena Meridian Id US
  I just painted a stainless steel Ruger 77 with an aluminum Leupold scope. Prep for the painting is easy enough and the kit is so easy to use it is almost foolproof. At a price that truly makes it a use it and dump it kit, there is no clean-up and no fuss. Very impressed with the ease of use and the quality of the paint job.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21