Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
owner (3/5) Jan 18, 2013 greg beal Cataldo id US
  after applying gun blue shake & spray on my gun receiver i found out it does go on pretty easy and smooth. it will go over filled and primed areas with no problems. i also applied it to bare steel and blued steel parts with the same results. the problem is the color does not look anything like real bluing. it's more of a satin black with a blue tint painted look. i was hoping it would look a lot better. G.B.
Shake N Spray review (4/5) Dec 12, 2012 Ian Hutchison boise ID US
  Rifle turned out great! Only problem I had was on the sprayer. Where the bottle and sprayer connect was leaking air, which in turn lost spray pressure. After a few wraps of gorilla tape, it worked well enough to get the job done.
Can in a Can (5/5) Mar 13, 2016 Darren Petro East Alton Il US
  Great stuff. I've done three project now, works great and I believe much better than using air brush. The Ultra Flat is fantastic in black and olive drab. Holds perfectly when subject to heat and cleaning agents. A strong recommend.
1st time (5/5) Oct 4, 2014 Jerry Peterson Lakevilla IL US
  Worked great! I thought it went on heavy when trying to put on light coats (probably operator error) had a run or two but it came out great!
I used Tactical Ultra Flat colors and they came out flat and the same as the color chart. I will definitely use it again !
First Time Duracoat User (5/5) Jul 14, 2014 Justin P Carpentersville Il US
  I have never done any firearm finishing before. I am a long time collector and enthusiast, and have been kicking around the idea of trying this for some time. I am glad i finally did. I chose the AUG Green and used a few of my "lesser" quality guns. For anyone else thinking of doing this for the first time my advice is to pay special attention to the prep work. The TruStrip which is included in the kit works very well. My second bit of advice would be to wait the appropriate amount of time between coats. I had enough Duracoat in one kit to do the frame of a FEG .32 (Walther PP Clone), the slide of a Ruger P95, The Receiver and a few components of a Hi Point 995, 4 AR Mags, 2 Hi Point Mag Extensions, and the rear cover of a Samsung Galaxy Mega smart phone (I admittedly went a little nuts with it). It has been about 2 weeks, and the finish is absolutely awesome. The color is great, the feel is great, i am very satisfied with the results. Attention to detail, and patients are all you need to put an awesome new finish on your guns.
Tuff stuff (5/5) May 17, 2014 John folk Elburn Il US
  Purchased this product in matte black for my aging Saiga AK 47
Easy to use as directed. Spray lite coats 5-10 minutes apart and you'll get
A really nice finish. I let it cure for 24 hours before reasemly. This looks great and is very durable.
The only negative I had was when I shook the bottle it leaked out between the can and plastic sleeve. Wear gloves, it's very tough to remove once on your skin, other than that, I highly recommend it
Walther PK380 (5/5) Sep 29, 2013 Gregory J Von Rox Lemont Il US
  I must admit I was a little skeptical about the quality of finish I would get out of the shake and spray system. The prep work was simple and self explanatory while taping off what I did not want coated was time consuming yet easy as well. Now for the spraying, I mixed and shook the product as directed and went on to spray. The spray seemed to come out in an erratic and uneven fashion and I was a little scared about ruining my brand new gun. I sprayed a total of three coats, by the time the third coat dried, I was AMAZED at the fit and finish of the Duracoat. It looks great as well as professional. I could not be any happier. Total time from prep to finish, one hour and ten minutes! Anyone can do this! I wish I could show a picture with this review!
Easy (5/5) Aug 11, 2013 Kevin Armknecht Shorewood IL
  just follow the directions and do a good job preping in cleaning the gun and it will go smooth
jrkenterprises (5/5) Jul 13, 2013 John Krenz carpentersville il US
  This was my second try with the shake n spray kit. This time knowing what to expect and how thin of coats to lay down, it turned out much better. Kit was enough to do all the pieces of a completely disassembled sub 2000. Turned out very nice. Will definitely keep using it since my application gets better every time.
Awesome product! (5/5) Mar 3, 2013 Joe Abene Rockford Il US
  This product is awesome! I wasn't sure how well the sprayer was gonna work,This was my first time trying anything like this and was kinda nervous I'd mess my firearm up. This product worked great! Super easy to use and my gun looks great! Got in all the nooks and cranies with no runs! Will definitely be buying more! I'd recommend this for sure! Can't beat the price and result! Thanks Hout/Duracoat!

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21