Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
AR fanatic (5/5) Jan 23, 2016 jon wright garland Te US
  easy to use,easy directions,matched my AR furniture perfectly.love the site and the product!!!!
Tactical Black (5/5) Mar 22, 2014 Guy Fleetwood Germantown Tn US
  1. Picking the color that you want - with out worry
a. In my experience I was confusing - colors all looked different than the examples that were given on Duracoat sites and posts through out the gun forums - Finally Duracoat came out with color deck and color samples were painted with the paint you would be applying to your gun
b. I bought the color deck - It had the colors I was interested in tactical flat - the color samples are small and to realize the true color I had to take the colors outside in the daylight and there I could see the true colors - you will need this color deck for tactical colors because there are no other options at this point to be sure of the color you want - not all the Duracoat colors are in this color deck so in my opinion you will have to pick the color you like and buy the color chip of your selection to see if it is actually that color - the Duracoat color selections on the sites and elsewhere simply are not true color in my opinion.
c. I picked Tactical Black for my project and the color was almost a perfect match of my Black XDm compact 45 - so if your looking for a black color that looks like your XDm Tactical black is very close .
3. I researched and researched this color selection problem I had and this is the way to go so as not to be disappointed .

2. Read and follow directions to the letter
a. cleaning most important
b. application: several light coats for professional look ( it's true )
c.don't mess with gun or whatever for at least couple days
3. Duracoat is the way to go if it is a do it yourself project - Color selection is key to being satisfied with your project - painting the gun is easy
4. That's my experience with Duracoat - I hope it helps - Good luck


Tactical ultra flat black (5/5) May 25, 2013 Guy Fleetwood Germantown Tn US
  I researched the Duracoat color sheens on forums and utube for a couple weeks and decided on the tactical ultra flat colors for my taste. I bought the duracoat tactical ultra flat black in the shake and spray and received the the product in 3 or 4 days. I followed the directions ( prep is most important - get the surface clean! with the degreaser and cleaning pad ) sprayed from about 8" ( 3 coats ) and the finish was outstanding. I carry a XDm 45 and the tactical ultra flat black was almost the same color and sheen. I could not be more pleased. Now if I could only find a way to compare my next color choice. I'm close to 70 yrs. old and any body can use Shake and Spray.
shake and spray (5/5) Jan 4, 2013 Stephen Castello Gold Canyon Ar US
  This product is so simple to use. Just follow the instructions and do exactly as instructed. Don't try shortcuts, that's one thing I knew before even ordering this great product. I finished one complete rifle and set of seven mags. I still had enough product left to do an absolutely fantastic job on a crossbow pistol. Since I was dealing with steel, aluminum alloys, composite materials, and fiberglass, I did not use heat. But I let these weapons sit for 4 weeks. I am proud to say the finish looks great after several trips to the range. Very strong and scratch resistant. For the money, you cannot beat this product.
Marlin 336 barrel (4/5) May 6, 2014 Rob Apfel Green Bay wi US
  I prepped to gun the way they told me and I had a disaster when the product fisheyed on part of the receiver and spots on the barrel. I wiped the product down as recommended and it still fisheyed. when it dried over night I sanded it off in the morning and re shot the parts. it now looks ok except for some dust that somehow got into it. my fault but a learning lesson. this is a god product if you understand that preparation is key!! do not cut corners and try to cut out steps. do exactly like the directions say and in a clean environment ad it will turn out great.
Shake and Spray (2/5) Jun 15, 2013 Douglas Kollar Hammond In US
  Using the shake and spray kit is a no-go. The sprayer puts out too much paint and runs are common. If the system could make the spray finer it would be much better.
I now use an airbursh to apply the paint.
super results (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 Stephan George Hemet Ca US
  Easy to use great results just built my first AR & Painted the lower the results were amazing looks like it was factory finished
I will recommend & use this product in the future
Excellent Product (5/5) Apr 5, 2016 Clive Pace Henderson NV US
  It is truly pleasing to come across a company that not only makes the product in USA, but also delivers exactly what it says in the promotional and instruction material.
As a first time user, I was both excited and terrified to start - According to the web site, once you let Duracoat harden, it is next to impossible to remove, so One needs be sure to get it right the first time.
Following instructions exactly (but reducing amounts so as to get a somewhat matte finish and not to use it all up on just one weapon), this was a breeze and came out exactly as desired. I couldn't be happier!
I did stray a tad in trying to get the masking 'glue' off and used alcohol rather than mineral spirits (of which I had none) and discovered that alcohol will mar the finish even fourteen hours after application. Luckily, I tried this on an area which would be covered by the grips, so it was of little consequence (and I buffed that up a couple of days later anyway). Stick with the instructions... Use mineral spirits!
Not surprisingly, once assembled, I placed the weapon in a lovely cushioned container and will not play with it until full cure time has elapsed (the instructions tell me that it takes 30 days to fully cure... I am a believer in their instructions! :-)
All in all, I can only praise the product, the instructions and the result (not to mention that it was delivered super-quick too).
Many thanks to all those that work so hard bringing this to market - A job well done and a superb product.
Thanks again.
Regards,
Clive Pace
not bulletproof (3/5) Mar 10, 2013 John Dye Holland MI US
  I was kind of hoping for a finish that would stick without scratching. But after 4 weeks of curing when it came time to rivet and assemble my AK47 and AMD65 The finish easily scratched, chipped and came right off when I installed rivets and safety selector. The guns are looking thoroughly battle beaten even though they haven't had a round put through them. It appears both of my guns will need refinishing now.
Mister (4/5) Oct 12, 2013 G Howard HOUSTON TX US
  PAINT GOES A LONG WAY-PLENTY LEFT OVER AFTER A PISTOL JOB. USED AN AIRBRUSH, 7 COATS-COVERED EXISTING NICKS NICELY. WOULD RECOMMEND-IT FORMS A POWDER COAT TYPE FINISH-SHOULD BE VERY DURABLE.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21